We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great value”

Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly and great value”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here with my 7 year old son when we had a weekend away together. Our room was roomy and comfortable. There was an excellent choice of items for breakfast, even better, Phillipa had managed to get in some Coco Pops especially on request from my son! I found the whole stay a lovely experience ; you were treated as a welcome quest and made to feel very comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hilbre on to others

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_h518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an excellent B&B. Our hosts were very friendly and very helpful, and had expert knowledge of the local area; they were especially knowledgeable about local opportunities for walking, running, climbing and caving. The breakfasts were delicious and large, and they serve cooked breakfasts for vegans and vegetarians as well as meat-eaters! The B&B is vary environmentally aware and has won some eco-tourism awards. The room we stayed in was large, comfortable and well-heated, which was especially important as it was sooooo cold outside in the unseasonable icy Easter weather (2013), We had an excellent time and we’d recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed at Buxton Hilbre for three nights and I enjoyed the experience. The stay was excellent. The rooms were beautifully designed, clean, comfortable and had a good view of the Country Park woods, The breakfast was excellent (I had a vegetarian breakfast so I can specially vouch for the vegetarians) and delicious. The owners were very friendly and helpful in all matters. Overall 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidinvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Loved all the home-made dishes for desert, jam, marmelade, compotte. GREAT overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We've just spent a lovely weekend in Buxton and we really would recommend the Buxton Hilbre as a fantastic stay. It's only a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Buxton and yet the Hilbre is on a quiet side street with lovely views. Our room was spacious, very clean with good facilities. The en suite is perfectly compact with a luxurious shower. The delicious breakfast was a good size with fruit, cereal, toast and a full English with oatcakes. The owner Phillipa is helpful, friendly and made us feel at home. If you're looking for a welcoming stay in an stunning house then the Hilbre is for you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed for one night before heading to Chatsworth. Philippa was very welcoming and our rooms (1 double and 1 single) shared a lovely big bathroom. There was also an extra loo.
Our breakfast was ample and suited to each individual preference. Our departure was complicated by my locking the keys in the car, but Philippa couldn't have been more helpful, lending her laptop to locate the car hire company, and her phone to ring them, then allowing us to stay in our rooms until the AA man arrived. She even made coffees for us all when help arrived. We were disappointed that our misadventure prevented us from exploring Buxton, as there are caves and woodland walks close by which sounded very appealing, not to mention the town itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was a nice place to stay, Philippa friendly and obliging. Our ensuite room had the smallest bathroom possible. Breakfast claimed to be 'award winning' was no better than others apart from a 'Derbyshire oatcake' replacing a potato cake or hashbrown.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Compton Guest House
Compton Guest House
#15 of 39 in Buxton
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode
Abode
#16 of 19 in Buxton
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast

Property: Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 White Knowle Road, Buxton SK17 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are light and airy, spacious and luxurious, with everything you need to make your stay a truly enjoyable ‘home from home’ experience. As a family of outdoor enthusiasts, we are always delighted to share our excellent knowledge of the local area, and our growing collection of local art helps to bring some of the outside beauty into our home. We look forward to welcoming you again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buxton Hilbre Bed & Breakfast Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing