We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't allow children under 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherdale Guest House
Ranked #16 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a family room at the Netherdale to attend a friends 40th party. When we rang to check the booking a few days before we were told that children under 5 were not allowed. I checked again later and there was no mention of this on their website. The man I spoke to was quite rude and would not budge on the matter nor would he refund us. End result was a booking we had paid for that we couldn't use. Family rooms are presumably useful if you're taking your parents rather than your children!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherdale, Owner at Netherdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

good morning. I read your comments with interest. both our web site and the paperwork of our booking agent stipulates quite clearly that it is our policy to only accept children over the age of 5 years, this as much as anything is to consider all our guests. obviously you overlooked this. when you rang which was well within the 48 hours necessary to cancel without charge, you were advised to cancel via the booking agent, because then the room could have been relet. it appears you did not do this. the staff person who took your call definitely was not rude, maybe he was in your opinion, because you did not get your way. the main point you have overlooked, is that your booking was for 3 people, not the 4 people that you were trying to get into the B&B and therefore the reason you got irate was that you did not get away with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location a short walk from the town and quiet. Very comfortable bed in a smallish room with small shower room. The decor was rather 'tired' in the room and particularly the shower room, and although the shower was very powerful and there was loads of hot water, the shower head was quite low - far too low for my husband who is over 6 foot. The description of the B&B said it had a bar, but there wasn't one. Good parking. Breakfast was very tasty and piping hot. Good quality sausages and a good choice of cereals etc. we only saw one of the owners who was polite, but quiet and didn't smile. Quite a lot of notices around the place, e.g. ' no take-aways in rooms' 'please remove your boots' and 'you are welcome to read our books but please tell us if you take them to your room'. The dated furniture did suit the building, and it was all good quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great night's stay, made all the more special following a terrible night previously at a different B&B. An amazingly comfortable double bed (and not two twins zipped together), and a lovely breakfast. Very friendly family, dated furniture, but in keeping with the age of the building. Would definitely stay again, but would suggest the very squeaky bed silenced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay, very nice owners - friendly and helpful. All key areas were spotless, but some parts seem not to have been paid the same attention - however nothing to worry about to be honest.
As previously stated the decor us not particularly modern or state of the art - but this is a comfy pleasant place to stay at a good price. Breakfast excellent - excellent quality products, we really enjoyed it. (Some music/radio at breakfast would be good though - atmosphere a little subdued)

Overall - if you're looking for a Boutique Hotel experience then you may be disappointed but if you're after a comfortable, warm establishment at a good price then look no further,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved it here! Although our room was a little small (room 2) it had a wonderful view and the most comfortable bed I've slept on for a long time! (What mattress topper do you use?!). The owners are lovely and everything we needed was provided. Had a good number of tea and coffee sachets and flavoured tea and fresh milk in a mini fridge on the landing which was fab. The bathroom was great, powerful shower which you sometimes don't get in B&Bs.
Great location just a short walk to the town and right next to Pooles Cavern and the walks around there.
The only down side is the early breakfast times (7-8:30), not exactly what you want when you're away for the weekend. I had to get up at the same time as during the week so no chance of a relaxing lie in. Saying this though the breakfast was very tasty and a good selection on offer.
Thanks for a lovely stay, we really enjoyed this B&B and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mk2890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Despite claiming to be a 4* Guest House, 2.5* or 3* would be a more appropriate rating for 'The Netherdale Guest House'.
Whilst the establishment was clean, warm and well located (just a short stroll from town), the service was average and the decor was like something from the 1970s. Textured wallpaper, missmatched fabrics and tacky furniture simply does not live up to a 4* recommendation. Moreover, the atmosphere was awkward. We were the only guests and felt as though we were intruding in somebody's home as there was little conversation between us and the proprietors.
Regarding breakfast, the portions were stingy and the time slot was too early (7.00-8.45 and earlier if requested!). It would be much more sociable and relaxing for the time slot to extend to at least 9:30- not everybody wants to wake up at the crack of dawn when they're having a relaxing mini break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherdale, Owner at Netherdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Firstly, a huge thank you to all our valued guests for their continued patronage, and their very positive comments appearing in our visitors book and on Trip Advisor.
Thank you, Poppi001 for your vote of confidence in the cleanliness, comfort etc of The Netherdale-- it is our first priority.
We always try to keep the decor in vogue with the period of the dwelling i.e. Victorian. Modern would not be appropriate for our establishment.
We have tried to match, as far as possible, the furniture in our home. As most can appreciate, it is not always possible to match antique type furniture -- we have done our best and are sorry if it was not to your taste.
Upon replacing the room key which had been broken, we constantly checked when possible, that all was O.K. for you.
Breakfast consists of sausage, bacon, eggs, tomato, mushrooms, and baked beans. Additionally there are 5 types of cereals available, and toast of which you requested and received extra. Again, we are sorry if this was insufficient.
We offer our sincere apologies if your stay was not as expected -- we try our best.
Finally, our 4star rating is issued by the ETB after annual overnight visits by their staff who ensure compliance with their requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Never having been to this part of the country and visiting just to go to the theatre always presents problems on where to stay! But just doing a bit of research with trip advisor which was again was spot on soon sorted that. Netherdale is a place we will be back too.Clean, tidy, excellent hosts and one of the most important things for me, an excellent breakfast,we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipKBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdale Guest House

Address: 16 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Netherdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherdale Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing