We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opera House Experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buxton Opera House

Buxton Opera House
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Opera House Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Buxton Opera House one of Englands finest theatres a magnificent building, next to the beautiful parvilion gardens. Once inside this theatre your eyes are dazzled by breathtaking architecture, a very intimate theatre you can almost see the whites of the performers eyes. I've been going to live shows for over 40 years, its so much more enjoyable to see and hear a show or band in a theatre of this size, than those modern cavernous soulless arenas that we have in every city now !!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gortonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    199
    19
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely old Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Sadly we couldn't get booked to see a show that coincided with our Tour of the Peak District but it is a lovely old historic building with great reviews.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful place to spend an evening. a great programme of shows. Just booked tickets for the 9 th November, a very special evening in store

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Buxton Opera House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderfully preserved old style Opera House. Watched an interpretation of the Nutcracker Ballet, which suited the smaller theatre.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonnall
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Flying visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited this as part of a tour with the tram tour. It is a little tram which only holds 8 people so you are better to book. Very popular.Opera House foyer was lovely. We weren't allowed in as they were closed to the public that day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emsie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Opera House also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Buxton Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing