We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Moritz Restaurant

St. Moritz Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is an extremely popular restaurant and was very busy the night we visited, we hadn't booked but a table was quickly found for us. Service was fast and friendly, food was good. I had a Filetto Stroganoff, strips of fillet steak in a mushroom, onion, brandy and paprika cream sauce. The steak was a bit overdone, but it was a very tasty dish. My husband had Pollo con Prosciutto, chicken breast and pancetta pieces in a butter, sage and white wine sauce with petits pois. He had a tiramisu for dessert, served layered in a sundae dish, which was rather unusual, I had 2 scoops of lovely ice cream. Good choice of wines, a bit expensive, but the white wine we had was good quality and well chilled.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    245
    55
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely staff and food very good value for money, worth a visit. Starter of Olives could have fed the whole restaurant with!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nelouiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Among The Top Three Meals I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My meal at St Moritz was easily among the best food I've eaten across three and bit decades of shoveling food into my mouth. Reasonably priced, decent portions and good service from the staff, along with an attractive setting (art noveau? I can never remember how exactly that's defined).

The menu seems to be mostly Italian: my girlfriend and I shared gnocchi genovese (£10.95, though you can also have a £6.95 smaller portion) and farfalle gorgonzola (£6.55 for the smaller portion, which is still a satisfying size), topped off by a calzone stuffed with chocolate and mascarpone (£4.95, enough to share depending on your appetite). Yes, that it exactly as tasty as it sounds. :D

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slideyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
224 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a pre-theatre dinner. Restaurant was busy even at 6.00pm and several people came in without bookings that has to be turned away.
Food was very good, excellent value for money and service with a smile.
Small restaurant with its own ambience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exellent place. Small and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This place is one of the best in Buxton. Small on the inside but that doesn't matter in the slightest. We have been here before and keep coming back time and time again. The food is always very well presented and in a decent portion. Tastes superb too. We will be back, and again, and again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kitmonkey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Moritz Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to St. Moritz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing