We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dome”
Review of The Dome

The Dome
Ranked #7 of 33 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Dome”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I first visited here many years ago when the building was a hospital, unlike now as it became part of Derby University. The acoustics in the dome, seating and meals available make it worth a quick visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    89
    21
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Takes your breath away”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I had seen this on Michael Portillo's great railway journeys but had not realised that it was part of a university. The view on entering the dome takes your breath away. You must complete the full circuit of the dome to catch views from all angles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank peter745_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An Architectural Gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

In the middle of sudent mahem is a gem worth seeing. The longest single span dome in the world(I think). You can sit and have a bite to eat and drink as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“an experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Dome overlooks Buxton as a magnificent construction. The sheer size of the building attracts you there. When we have visited it has been part of the university & we have been there for a snack, coffee, lunch all of which have been fine, as we have sat inside & marvelled at the size & extent of the building.
Well worth a visit to admire the wonderful dome and have a comparatively cheap food visit.

Not the easiest access/entrance directions for non-students. To attract visitors there needs to be a more welcoming atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“You are welcome to pop in, even if they don't say so!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Nothing suggests visitors are welcome, and do note photography inside is not allowed. However despite that, visitors are expected and welcomed. Leaflets (and the Internet) make it clear that you are free to visit.
There is a reception office inside the dome, at the entrance; and visitors are asked to report there, but I don't think it's that important if you're a tourist.
Anyway inside there's a notice board about the building's history. Also a nice cheap cafe [good but cheap hot chocolate from a machine was all we wanted], and of course the fun of being inside such a huge dome. I just find them fascinating, and love the acoustics, so I'm glad to finally have been able to see it; when I visited before it was a hospital.
It's free, it's a chance to see one of the world's largest domes. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatSeekerWrexham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dome also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing