We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a pleasant overnight stay at the Jug and Glass inn while attending an old friends birthday party. The Inn is as you would expect an old coaching Inn, with amodern extention on the rear housing the bed and breakfast accommodation. The room we were given was excellent with everything we required provided and views looking over the beautiful countryside. I cannot fault the breakfast which was served by a very efficient waitress.
All in all a very pleasant overnight stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Jug and Glass Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrived on a very hot Friday afternoon was greeted by the owner Janette very friendly and genuine.

After been shown to our room we ventured to the bar and ordered some lunch, two smoked salmon and prawn salads washed down with some excellent cider.

Our room was well decorated and with a very large comfy bed.

We ate in the restaurant on two nights and really enjoyed all that was put before us.

I can recommend the Guinness and Tobermoray Whiskey!

The only downside was the noisy road but Janette cannot do much about that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed for one night. We arrived at 1415 hours and were greeted by Janette, the proprietor and her excellent team of willing waitresses and bar staff. We had a wonderful stay and were made to feel very special. The whole experience was a real treat. Thank you all so much.
We will definitely be staying there again. The location is also a bonus, with wonderful views.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrocoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Yet another successful visit to the Jug & Glass. The food is still as good as always, with real ales and cheerful staff, particularly Frank & Jannette mine hosts. It is a first class centre for a visit to the Derbyshire Dales, particularly for a walker. If walking for the day, start off with the full breakfast. It will give plenty of fuel for the walk, and then finish off with one of the local ales at the bar!!!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank wilpena42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

called here for a cooling drink on a hot day an decided to eat.. the choice of drinks was good the menu looked nice too with plenty of choice.. we started with the garlic mushrooms which were lovely the mains were even better.. the stilton an steak pie was very tasty , the chips were homemade an gorgeous in fact both meals were the best we have had when dining out for along time.. we regulary eat out an this was one of the best.. the staff were friendly the service was quick .. you couldnt ask for more!! we actually sat outside as it was a lovely day an the views just topped our visit.. TOP PLACE......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristian26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have been here a number of times, and the food seems to get better each time. The lamb on a Sunday is the best dish I have had. The specials are always nice, the bread and butter pudding was to die for. Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giddypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a very comfortable country inn that makes you feel welcome as a guest and is clean
The food is good and there was very little to fault
Hard beds perhaps let the rooms down but thats being picky- steak was cooked to perfection
I would recommend this as a place for a group of friends to visit and stay for a weekend

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurkha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,801 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £67 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton
The Jug And Glass Inn Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing