We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jug and Glass Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
112
64
16
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
64
16
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpeak districtb bwarm welcomemain roadwalking weekendtissington trailfor sunday lunchbreakfast and evening mealhearty breakfastreal alecomfortable roomslovely roomwi fia wonderful staygreat weekendcouple of nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I had a mixed grill off the special's board. I can honestly say it was the very best mixed grill that I've ever eaten. I asked for rare and the steak was rare and delicious. The lamb chop was slightly pink and delicious. The gammon was tender and tasty. The two sausages were also tasty. The grill came with an egg, mushrooms, black pudding, chips and salad. The chips were homemade and perfectly cooked. All in all, a brilliant meal and at a very reasonable price. The service was friendly and efficient, even on a Saturday night when they were so busy they were turning people away. Unfortunately my wife reported that the ladies' toilets are in dire need of an upgrade and they need to provide paper towels rather than the old hand towel that was just sitting on the side next to the sink. This is a shame as my wife reports that this small detail ruins the overall impression of an otherwise very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome and a lovely spacious clean room overlooking fields. Even though the pub sits on the busy road you are unable to hear the traffic. We eat in the pub first night and yes typically pub food but good and value for money. Full english breakfast served in the morning with a good choice. Nice relaxing stop to a lovely weekend in the Peak District.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Clean and spacious. Very welcoming hosts and great food.Our first visit to the Peak District with our 8 year old daughter. Traveled there from Alton Towers - 30 mins drive. Our room easily accommodated an extra bed. Nothing too much trouble for children meals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alishankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We've been here a couple of time before, nice place to stop off after hiking in the peak district. This time however we decided to eat there after being in Longnor... so we arrive, blatantly looking at the specials board an pick up a menu looking at it at the bar before ordering drinks... even commenting on how there was plenty to chose from. So the lady behind the bar serves us some drinks and off we go to decide which meals to order... 5 minutes later my partner goes to the bar to be told they wont be serving food again until 6pm! This was at 5pm in a place that says on their website "Public bar and restaurant open, from 12pm Thursday to Monday" This was on a Monday.. they give the impression of 'serving food all day' but dont. Disappointed because we often pass the pub on our peak adventures, but looking at other reviews looks like they rest on their laurels, plenty of other option out this way.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank duckegguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed at not getting a meal and as you correctly pointed out we do serve meals from 12:00 on Mondays, however on this particular day our day chef was suddenly called away and rather than compromise on the excellent quality of our meals we chose to suspend this service until the head chef arrived at 18:00 (he actually arrived at 17:30). This was explained to your wife at the time. I would also like to stress that we NEVER 'rest on our laurels' and are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at the Jug and Glass great name for two nights. Got a very nice welcome on arrival and shown to a very nice room.
Rommel was clean and bed very comfortable and a decent size bedroom, we ate in the restaurant both nights and the first night the food was good, basic pub grub but good value for money, second night not so good, we were asked to go through to our table because a big party was expected but were then left waiting for some time before a young waitress arrived, I can only assume that she was new as any questions asked about the food she just looked blank, shame really because this is a nice place, needs some attention to staff training but it is a place I will return to. Good rooms and value for money,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews