We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we've had in years!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

After the pubs in Hartington were full up I was advised to check out The Jug and Glass and I must say it was a blessing in disguise! Great selection of food, great prices and great staff. Literally the best meal we've had in a long time-and I can speak for all 13 of us!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

2 adults stayed for 1 night in November.
The inn is cosy, welcoming and an lovely retreat from the world!
Janette and Frank were so friendly and provided some of the best food we have tasted - in huge portions. The bar was relaxed during the evening and the room was well-appointed, with simple, tasteful decor.

Ensuite bathrooms, hairdryer, tea and coffee all made the experience hassle-free and to be thoroughly enjoyed.

We will be back! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms cosy with small double-glazed windows - great views. (Not sure about upper floor.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairesings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived on Sunday late afternoon to a very welcoming hello. Shown to our very well appointed room which was warn and very clean. All the necessaries were there Tea/Coffee and TV. Evening meal was from an excellent menu and the Bar has a good selection of Wines and Beers.
Good hearty Breakfasts in one of two small ,but comfortable Dining rooms. Janette and Frank are super people, nothing is too much trouble. We'll be staying again for sure.

Room Tip: The Views from the first floor are very pleasant. Not a Human dwelling in sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived late on Friday evening for a 2 night stay for a walking weekend to be welcomed by Frank and Janette the owners. The bar area was very pleasant and welcoming with comfy sofa's and a good selection of beers, wines and spirits. Frank and Janette were so welcoming and extremely helpful. Janette showed us to our room (room no 1) which was delightful, it was very clean, spacious and well appointed, it basically had everything we needed, TV, hairdryer and kettle etc. The bed was a little too firm for my liking personally which did give me a somewhat unsettled sleep, however this is a personal choice as I do prefer a softer bed. So if you sleep well on a firmer mattress then you will be ok. The decor is modern and new and is very tasteful. The en-suite had wonderful, thick fluffy white towels and plenty of complimentary bottles of shampoo and shower gel etc. We spent both evenings in the bar which had a lovely atmosphere. The guests and locals were very friendly as too were Frank and Janette, they made an effort to chat to everyone that was staying there or visiting for just one drink. Sadly we didn't get chance to sample the evening dinner as we'd been walking all day however we did have breakfast. The dining area again was very pleasant with an old log burner through the two rooms which I can only imagine would be fabulous when lit.

Overall a lovely stay with warm, friendly owners. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area as it is fairly central to most attractions. I doubt you will leave disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIFILEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Unpretentious, warm, welcoming, comfortable, quiet location (despite main road), very reasonably priced. Good breakfast and evening meal, hearty, well-cooked pub grub just the job after a day out walking, cycling or visiting the sights.

Splendidly situated for exploring the southern end of the Peak District - we'll happily return if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Jug the accommodation was very good , lovely room clean and well appointed . The breakfast was substantial! with a varied selection always available , I had an evening meal there every night and the standard was always good (pub food rather than ala carte!) Special thanks to Janette for her help and advice I would certainly stay there again Thanks again Huw

Room Tip: Go for the Double even if your alone it,s good to have the extra space, mine was on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Jug and Glass Inn on Monday evening and found it friendly and very comfortable. The food was great - recommend fish, chips and mushy peas! Beautiful, central location for the Peak District.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,231 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
582 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton
The Jug And Glass Inn Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing