We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #17 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've been past the Jug and Glass often but, until yesterday, never at a suitable time to stop. Friendly landlord, good local beers, honest, tasty home-cooked food at sensible prices. I'll try and plan future journey times to fit in more stops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laticsgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Old fashioned pub inside which we like. Very friendly staff and helpful. I wasn't very hungry so asked for a childs portion which came out as big as an adults portion! Very good value for money, very nice food. We were sight seeing in the area so just happened upon the pub, glad we did!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shropshire69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for one night in September. We received a friendly welcome on arrival and had a good meal in the bar with plenty of choice. Good selection of Beers too !
The room was very comfortable and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked this for me and my husband for a nice weekend break. We arrived at 2.30 pm ( we could check in from 2) there was no one there, the doors were locked and there was a note on the door saying for b&b to ring this number. We rang the number 7 times and every time we got this number is unavailable. We then drove down into hartington to get a drink and a bite to eat and returned an hour later to still find we couldn't get in so we tried the number again without success. We sat in the car for another hour and we weren't prepared to sit around waiting any longer. We wasn't happy this is how our weekend away started so we decided to stay at a different hotel in hartington and ended up having a brilliant weekend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

After the pubs in Hartington were full up I was advised to check out The Jug and Glass and I must say it was a blessing in disguise! Great selection of food, great prices and great staff. Literally the best meal we've had in a long time-and I can speak for all 13 of us!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

2 adults stayed for 1 night in November.
The inn is cosy, welcoming and an lovely retreat from the world!
Janette and Frank were so friendly and provided some of the best food we have tasted - in huge portions. The bar was relaxed during the evening and the room was well-appointed, with simple, tasteful decor.

Ensuite bathrooms, hairdryer, tea and coffee all made the experience hassle-free and to be thoroughly enjoyed.

We will be back! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms cosy with small double-glazed windows - great views. (Not sure about upper floor.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairesings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived on Sunday late afternoon to a very welcoming hello. Shown to our very well appointed room which was warn and very clean. All the necessaries were there Tea/Coffee and TV. Evening meal was from an excellent menu and the Bar has a good selection of Wines and Beers.
Good hearty Breakfasts in one of two small ,but comfortable Dining rooms. Janette and Frank are super people, nothing is too much trouble. We'll be staying again for sure.

Room Tip: The Views from the first floor are very pleasant. Not a Human dwelling in sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,205 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
580 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton
The Jug And Glass Inn Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing