We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don' t be put off by the exterior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Don't be put off by the exterior of this 17th Century Inn, Janette and Frank made us very welcome, it is obvious that this lovely couple are actively doing their utmost to update this Inn with beautiful large spotlessly clean bedrooms, wonderful hearty breakfast and evening meals with a good menu, and yes the bar is in need of a little TLC as is the exterior but the Inn is spotlessly clean,and I am sure given time the exterior will reflect the warm welcome and the hard work that has been done inside the Inn. Please give it a try, you will be pleasantly surprised. We will definitely be going back. The location is also convenient for all the local beauty spots and attractions.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the first floor, king size bed, bath with shower over bath. However I believe all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

It looks just a Pub,but at the back excellent accomadation.King size bed,biscuits with usual drinks,great Bathroom.Breakfast in the morning great,particulary Bacon and Sausages.(Local Pigs beware)!Great value and good local Beer.You won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prodbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location of this Inn is wonderful. The views stunning and the road noise not a problem. The entrance for the accommodation part is round the back when the Inn is shut and but this seemed to lack thought and was more of a dumping ground.

The room was clean, maintained and big enough for our two night stay. The welcome warm from the owners but there was inattentive and very slow service in the dinning area which was run down. The food portions were enormous but taste very average, this was echoed by the breakfast which was fried and cheap quality.

I would only recommend this as an average place to stay the night but don't expect more than below average quality food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely super-king sized ensuite room in the new (around 8 year old) accommodation block at the back of the inn. Although the inn is on a main road, noise was not an issue due to the positioning of the accommodation at the back..

Very pleasant bar - smaller than is apparent from the outside and disappointingly lacking in atmosphere during our visit as it was rather quiet, but we were there just before Easter. Food was pubby and fine, but nothing grand. There were two real ales on tap..

The rooms at the back overlook open countryside, but our view was slightly marred by the view of a rusting old Vladivar lorry container at the side of the inn! However, the window was small and for one night that was more comical for a than problematic!

There is free wifi available but I didn't realise that as it didn't seem to reach the roooms. If you want ot use the wifi you'll have to take advice on where to sit in the bar! I guess a wifi extender would be a wise purchase for the business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldWandererUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break, staying at the Jug and Glass. The pub is in an ideal situation to explore the nearby cycle trails.
Our room was very comfortable and well furnished with amazing views over uninterrupted countryside.
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, The full English well and truly set us up for a full days cycling. the evening meals were also very enjoyable .
On our next visit to the Peak District , we will definitely be considering the Jug and Glass

Room Tip: We stayed in room seven, good view and at the rear of the building away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for one night, we had the king room, which had a lovely comfortable King sized bed, and reasonable sized bathroom. It was across the hall from the bar, but was no problem at all, with noise from the bar, I found the traffic from the road was a little noisy, first thing in the morning, but not too bad, it was quiet at night. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was very good, and very reasonably priced. The owners Jeanette and Frank were lovely, very helpful, and friendly, as were the locals using the bar. No complaints, other than, the room could do with a glass for drinking water, and hand towels, otherwise, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely friendly staff and they cant do enough to accomodate. Good quality homely food in good portion, with plenty of choice. Looked like it had plenty of reservations, which does not surprise, as Im sure they get plenty of repeat business. I will be back as all enjoyed and we had delightful and tasty food at sensible prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
15.3 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
1 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £69 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton
The Jug And Glass Inn Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing