We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, disappointing food and rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive, disappointing food and rude service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped by here today for lunch for my in-laws, who had fond memories of staying at The Palace 25 years ago. Has clearly gone downhill since then. The food was expensive and resoundingly disappointing (eg £14 for a frozen burger and chips, some bagged salad and a few rings of red onion, £6 for what tasted suspiciously like tinned tomato soup, with a roll). As if all that wasn't bad enough, the service was terrible - waited an age for the food to arrive (some of it stone cold), and had to ask twice to pay (and wait almost half an hour), with one particularly rude waiter making it quite clear that he did not (could not?) be interrupted (ie politely asked if payment could be made) while he was ineptly trying to deal with one other table in an almost empty conservatory. Buxton is a nice town - don't waste your time or money on this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank obiwan036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, if you wish to discuss matters further, please call me at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    774
    598
    401
    273
See reviews for
360
1,241
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A nice hotel which needs updating. Staff good. Beds roomy but bedding uncomfortable and cheap, I'm afraid. Plenty of eateries in Buxton. On a Puma leisurebreak deal it's a good deal but they need to sort the pillows and duvets!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barnhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we look forward to your next visit at The Palace.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Polite & effective check-in. Nice large, clean room & bathroom. Plenty of storage for clothes.
Good English breakfast with plenty of choice.
Lovely comfortable bed & pillows.
Nice grounds with plenty of greenery.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Superb comments regarding your stay here at The Palace, thank you and we are very pleased that all moments of your stay were memorable. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stayed at this hotel recently for a family wedding. It is an old building and has lots of character, however it is quite dated and requires some love and attention.

We stayed on a reduced wedding rate for two nights, the room was big and the bed comfortable, but the room was very hot, even hotter once I'd spent two hours doing my hair for the wedding! The windows would not open very far and the hotel could not supply us with a fan.

Overall, an average stay, but it was quite expensive in comparison to other higher quality hotels I have stayed in.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthSharon_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed the wedding and my regrets that we did not organise the minor inconveniences for yourself. Upon your next visit to Puma we will correct any wrong happenings.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went for a spa day and the pool was too cold to cold to get in! Managed to use the sauna and steam room ok, but they weren't very clean. A couple of local residents were using the sauna and said the pool heating breaks regularly so if you're booking this hotel with the pool facilities in mind ring first and check it's useable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, maintenance to to the pool has taken place, unfortunate that it wasnt fully functional for your stay, sincere apologes. Puma Hotels Collection welcomes you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit tired. I was expecting a bit larger room for the size of the hotel. The bathroom was very small and you could not swing a cat around in the shower. Sink and tile on the floor had a crack. Inexclusive dinner was ok. Could have been hotter. Empty tables not cleared. Staff polite and friendly. Will post on Breakfast tom!!!

B The t. Th

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for completing a review, I hope on your next stay we can be introduced on premise to make your stay more satisfying.

Many Thanks
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

i have just read some of the reviews about this hotel and having just returned from a three day stay i feel i must comment. This is a fab grand old building with glorious tall ceilings and a real sense of history. Its not shiney and new with easy to maintain rooms, its a place with massive character and can forgive the odd tired looking areas and the longer i stayed the more i appreciated it.I dont envy the job upkeeping such an imposing building. My room was spotless and cleaned every day. i found the staff to be very friendly and more than accomadating. Its ideally situated and would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali5872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Fantastic, we are really very pleased that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere that The Palace has to offer. I will pass on your compliments to all the staff who take pride and joy in their work here, looking forward to your next stay here in Buxton.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing