We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms desperate for some tlc.”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rooms desperate for some tlc.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Although the reception staff, and the restaurant staff were helpful, it doesn't make up for the shabby rooms. We had a double bed with a single width headboard. Not a big thing in itself but everything about the room was shabby and worn. The sofa was stained, the sink cracked, the towels thin and grey. People expect better nowadays. It needs much more than a facelift.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, if you wish to discuss further please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    802
    632
    422
    295
See reviews for
369
1,315
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a treat. True the hotel needs a little TLC but the old fashion grandeur made up for it. Its a old building not a modern new build. We used the stairs when going down to reception. Its an experince to walk down that grand staircase. Room big and spacious, clean and tidy, with a massive bed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Wish we had an evening meal here but 06.30 start was to late for the theatre tho we have found out that this has changed to 06.00 which is ideal since trying to get a pre theatre meal in Buxton is a nightmare. Value for money-£70 for two, bed and breakfast superb. Would we stay here again-definitely. If you go to Buxton you must stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The Palace looks forward to your return in the near future for whatever occasion it may be.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Hotel was in the best location close to the opera house,Nearby nice eating and wine bars was only a cross a main road.
The staff at the checking was excellent
The room we had was a bit tired on floor 3 the towels and bedding excellent,but we only had a over night stop with breakfast included, we could not fault the breakfast well cooked,and hot.I felt very relaxed in buxton the only thing wronge with the hotel was the bar at night time i was waiting that long with our friends to get served at the bar over 20 minuets I went to my room and had a cup of tea it was 10.30pm we was told the private party was all using the small bar in the lounge area instead of the bar in the venue.other than that it did not spoil my weekend away and would go back next time in buxton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Puma Hotels Collection welcomes you back in the near future, thank you for your notes with apologies for minor delays at the bar.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent accommodation, very clean rooms and public area.The food was excellent at breakfast and I thanked the breakfast chef for this. Staff were helpful and polite, Harriet on reception was so very professional and courteous, Sean at the bar was so friendly and welcoming and Mikey the breakfast chef who cooked our fabulous breakfast. Will certainly return as they all made my family and myself so very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank walkerskrisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Fantastic, the Palace appreciates you taking a moment to review your visit. Many names mentioned who will all be rewarded for the team efforts that are put forward within the daily hospitality we strive to deliver.

Many Thanks
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I've read some reviews on here and yes the hotel is tired in places but overall it's a great hotel for a weekend break.

The staff were great. Friendly check-in, professional Spa staff and the bar/waiting staff were great too. The manager must be in touch with his team as they all gave excellent service.

Had an evening meal with friends there in a private dining room. We weren't expecting too much as we paid £110 for dinner bed and breakfast per couple. Much to our surprise, the food was excellent. We had a choice menu, which was great for our party of 20.

Buxton is a lovely place for a weekend break and the Palace hotel has an element of grandeur from days gone by. Yes the rooms could do with a make-over but a hotel of that size and age takes a considerable amount of time and investment.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank comfy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Wonderful, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Seemingly a relaxing but enjoyable visit to The Palace, we welcome you back in the near future and be sure that your comments will be made known to the team.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a 70th birthday family dinner. All arrangements were
carefully and efficiently made. Food and service were excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Atmosphere of Victorian Spa hotel was a delight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Congratulations on your celebration and very pleased that you joined us for your event, hope you enjoyed some of the lovely surroundings we have here in Buxton during your stay.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently stayed at the place hotel with my mum. She wanted to see Leo Sayer who was performing at the opera house and a deal for the palace came up on amazon for £99 for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 so we decided to try it out. The hotel was easy to find and very centrally located, onsite car park with plenty of spaces(4.50 per night and I could have left the car there until later after check in if I wanted), check in was easy and quick, the room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfy, the bathroom was a little dated but the water was the hotest I have ever known for any hotel I have stayed in which was a refreshing change. The hotel is full of period charm and has lots of history to tell. We had our dinner in the restuarant which as part of the deal included a three course meal and a bottle of wine and the food was absolutely superb and I would recommend to anyone! When we came back from seeing Leo we had a drink in the bar which was quite busy and prices what you would expect when staying in a hotel. Breakfast the next day was excellent, fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea, water and hot chocolate which was great for me. Variety of cereals, fruits, yogurts, pastries, porridge and hot English breakfast and toast with jam etc which set us up for a lovely 6 mile walk in nearby Dovedale. Would definatley stay here again and recommend to others, great hotel with easy access to beautiful British countryside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
It was a pleasure having yourself and your mom stay at The Palace, thank you kindly for your comments. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay for you both, we hope you will join us again in the future.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
379 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing