We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catching up before christmas”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Catching up before christmas”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel in Buxton. This is a very large hotel which looks stunning at night on approach. Reception staff were friendly and the room comfortable with a well stocked bathroom re soaps etc. Hotel needs some cosmetic work doing to it but has that victorian feel about it which I prefer to modern hotels.

Went out for dinner to a local steakhouse (Lone Star - separate review) and on return was met by the friendly and helpful Donna in the bar. Although the drinks are a tad expensive the bar was well stocked and a few "cheeky wee whiskies" were consumed from a good range of malts.

Breakfast was a pleasure, Sarah and her team were friendly and efficient, helpful without imposing. Well done the chef!! Kippers beautifully cooked and the scrambled eggs seasoned to perfection.

All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Good to see you enjoyed the whisky selection, fantastic comments which will be passed on to Donna and Sarah through our rewards programme.
Compliments to the team for making your stay welcoming and the chance to stop in town to enjoy our surroundings is always pleasant.

Best Wishes and Merry Christmas
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    813
    642
    433
    305
See reviews for
374
1,341
62
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner and I booked a one night stay through Living Social at the Buxton Palace.
It was great value for money because it included breakfast, dinner and bottle of wine.
I don't know if I'm allowed to state the price but it was less that £100 with Living Social
The hotel is a little faded and needs a total upgrade.Tthe rooms are large and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. The evening meal is a little rushed, as soon as you've finished your first course the second is there within a minute or two...too quick guys. The food while not top notch was good. The breakfast was the same before we had finished our cereal the hot breakfast was on our table..too rushed. One really annoying and unprofessional thing was the manageress was walking around with her phone or walkie talkie was blasting out workers messages all throughout breakfast. On the whole if you can get a good deal go for it and enjoy

Room Tip: A couple of good pubs near the back of the opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOwls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Compliments to the team, fantastic deal that you managed to recieve. Seemingly a quality, comfortable and overall enjoyable experience.

Welcoming you back
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stay was just as you would expect for a grand Victorian hotel in the centre of a spa town. Excellent service but the décor and facilities still reflect the Victorian era and could be upgraded. The lift has a mind of its own.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Palace, location and comfort cannot be beaten. We welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Some months before our trip, we booked this hotel, we wanted a quiet weekend for two to celebrate a birthday. Subsequently we booked tables in the restaurant for both nights of our stay, and were even promised a specially nice table to take into account our celebrations.
Imagine our disappointment some weeks later when we received an email indicating the cancellation fee will of our restaurant bookings because the whole of the restaurant was closed for a private function! We complained and as a result we were promised a snpecial room with a bottle of champagne, and appropriate restaurant bookings at a nice establishment close to the hotel. Once more we were looking forward to our trip.
On arrival at the hotel we were happy with the suite even though the whole place was rather shabby and in desparate need of upgrade/redecoration. The restaurant booked for us by the hotle was adequate, but no more than that and certainly not good enough for our celebrations. On return to our room we found that there was a disco going on immediately below and the noise was horredndous....not just background noise, but loud enough for every word of the DJ and the words of the songs to be heard. Obviously we could not sleep, or even watch tv properly. At 11.30 pm I complained about the noise only to be told that the disco would go on to 1.00 in the morning. At that point I became angry and made a forceful complaint, but the best the hotel could offer, at nearly midnight, was a move to another, lesser, room.
The following morning we checked out not wishing to stay for the second night we had paid for. It is clear that this hotel puts the comfort of guests secondary to functions. To put a couple who wanted a quiet weekend in a room above a disco is beyond stupid. The fabric of the hotel is shabby, as is the treatment we received.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the function rooms if you want a quiet night!I
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I apologise for not being given the opportunity to continue an abrupt ending of a previous conversation, if you however wish to discuss or clarify any matters of the details specified, please return my call at your earliest convenience.

Many Thanks
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bollington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Friendly staff and a nice building and setting. Great location for the opera house, room was clean and functional but like parts of the hotel could use with a little investment. Breakfast is buffet style with lots of choice and of a good quality, leisure facilities good and clean. Parking charge for paying guests (£4.50) seems a little cheeky!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimmy260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank for for taking a moment to post your comments, location, friendly members of the team a clean, comfortable room are all recognised. Your comments will be passed to the team and welcome you back in the near furture we hope.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Myself and seven friends stayed at the Palace on 30 November 2013. This is our 4th visit and we always have a wonderful time. Some rooms are nicer than others but even the ones that are probably in need of updating are still clean and comfortable, It's a beautiful, elegant building in a lovely position and Buxton is just Wonderful. The staff at the Palace are always so helpful and friendly. We didn't eat at the hotel this time as we decided to try one of the local restaurants but in the past the food has been really good. The hotel has such lovely atmosphere and we feel equally at home dressed in our party dresses and heels or jeans and walking boots. I have rated the "sleep quality" as average this time as we did have some machine/ heating system noise but this seemed to be restricted to our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rintin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Seemingly a lovely stay at The Palace, apologies for any minor issues with the noise, overall a great stay. Thank you for returning and look forward to your next trip to Buxton, where the room shall match your relaxing stay.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Finally a hotel that is happy to help no matter the problems. Friendly staff, lovely food, nice relaxing spa and pool to enjoy after a busy day outdoors. The rooms are clean, spacious, providing everything you would need and a fabulous atmosphere, welcoming and warm. Truly felt relaxed and spoiled. Reasonably priced and offers of good deals on return bookings. Good location for exploring the peak district.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank loulaura84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Compliments to all the team, thank you for your review. Location, hospitality, comfort and cleanliness all contributing to your enjoyable visit to The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Many Thanks
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,055 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
8.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing