We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived early at around 1pm, our room wasn't ready and we were given the option of paying an extra £10 to "upgrade" to a bigger room which was ready or we would have to wait for an unknown length of time. We paid the £10 but in hindsight wished we hadn't.

Service in the restaurant was very poor. The staff were chaotic, the dinners either side of our table left before we had ordered and their dirty cluttered tables were not cleared until we left at 10.15.

Half way through our meal loud 1970's pop music started playing which was completely in contrast to the décor and style of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Russell32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Russell32014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. We guarantee rooms are ready from 3pm each day, however we are more than happy to take bags to your room whilst you go and enjoy the delights of Buxton.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,803)
There are newer reviews for The Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,931 - 1,937 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having read some of these reviews that are quite negative I felt I had to write a review. The palace hotel, what can I say about it?Yes the rooms may need a little tlc but they are always clean, tidy and well presented. The hotel doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. The staff are always helpful, polite and attentive at all times. The food, from what I've experienced of it has been wonderful and service been very good. This hotel will always be a special place for me and my husband as we got married here and have returned every year for our anniversary and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat-Evz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Nat-Evs

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Beautiful Hotel, just old and tired! Was upgraded to a family room, only got 2 extra beds, not a nicer room! Could not open window, single glazed and steamed up. Needs repairing or even better replacing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Joan M

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On arrival, the receptionist insisted that we pay £50 up front for room service that we didn't want. I contested it but they insisted we pay as they don't trust their patrons. They actually said, "we do it in case people walk out on us". We went to our room which was very spacious but didn't look or feel well maintained or as clean as it should be. We got the feeling that only the white sheets had been cleaned and not the rest of the bedding from the smell of it. The Carpet is bit dirty and the rooms are poorly maintained with botched repairs and poor decorating. Since we had paid for room service up front, we opted to order a Tuna and Cucumber sandwich at £7.90 each with a £5 compulsory tray charge so, £20.80 for two sandwiches. Not bad value!! We also got a dodgy TV Remote which made me quite annoyed to the point that I wanted to throw the TV out of the window. When it came to breakfast, we couldn't fault the restaurant and the restaurant staff were polite and the breakfast menu is very comprehensive with some nice cooked to order options as well as the buffet. If you want a drink in the hotel bar, the drinks prices are very inflated but there's a good pub (The Railway) only a five minute stroll away. There's also a very good selection of restaurants close by and none of them seem overpriced. We only stayed for two nights and speaking for both of us, two nights was enough. I wouldn't like to be stuck in this hotel for any longer than that. That said, it served its purpose for a short stay and your own experiences of the hotel may be better. I'd say, if it were to become an independent hotel with better policies and a bit more caring about customer service, it could be a wonderful place, but as it stands, it's just OK.

Room Tip: The whole place seems to be in decay so, any room should be the same.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear James S

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just visited the palace hotel in buxton on a KGB deal,for the price we paid we had a great time . Hotel itself needs a good face lift but was clean staff very helpful at all times. Evening meal was OK breakfast had a good selection. We asked to change first room as was next to lift and shower was smallest I have ever seen, our request was dealt with straight away with no fuss. Buxton itself was a delight plenty of bars and restaurants ,lots of lovely tea rooms too well worth a visit will be going back but would probably use local restaurants next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger shower
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Lynette R

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My mother likes this old hotel in Buxton so we decided to take her for lunch today.
On the positive side the food was very nice and the Chef was a very friendly man. He told us it was his first day. He was very accommodating and pleasant. It was just a shame about the rest.
The service was dismal. I have never written on trip advisor before but truly, this was terrible.
Firstly, we ordered our starters. All went OK. We sat for a while but were not offered any drinks. We asked if we could have a wine menu and order some drinks. 'Yes' we were told 'I'll bring a menu over'. Some of the starters arrived....still no drinks. We got up, crossed the room and asked the AM if we could order some drinks. We think it would have been looked upon more favourably if we had just bought out own bottles of pop.
The children's starter was advertised as vegetable sticks with dips (no dips). We asked if we could have the dips for the starter. 'Yes', we were told. 'What dips would you like?' 'Well the ones that come with the starter please'. 'OK' the girl told us 'I could get you some mayonnaise'. We thought that would be OK (though it seemed strange to advertise a product with dips if it doesn't actually have dips). Meanwhile....no drinks.
Some of our 11 people party were nearing the end of their starters so we asked if we could have the other starters. After some time (when the rest of the party had completed their starters) the rest of them arrived. No apology. We ate our starters (all delicious we must say).
Starters completed....we were getting a bit thirsty. The waitress bought us a wine menu and we ordered drinks.
We sat surrounded by our empty plates for a while (still quite thirsty). We made a decision to go up to the cavery and get our food. Our table was cleared and the drinks arrived (at last!).
The carvery was lovely and at this point we encountered the friendly Chef (nice to see a friendly face!).
Whilst eating our meals we looked around for a waitress to ask if they could bring the children's main meals to us. No joy so again one of us left the table and crossed the room to ask.
After we had eaten I suggested that we avoid pudding and move on but the children protested to no ice cream. Reluctantly, we ordered puddings and coffees.
My sister ordered a Machiato coffee (which should look like an espresso). We asked the lady (politely) if the drink she had bought over was a Machiato as it looked like a Latte. We were rebuffed with the comment 'I just press the button and thats what comes out'. Well, fair enough, but a small amount of customer service wouldn't go amiss. It's a great line but it's a good job a lot of other professions don't use it (I am thinking particularly the midwife profession).
In all seriousness though this really was an overall disaster in terms of service. I have been a waitress in my youth and am well aware of the pressures of a busy restaurant but this place wasn't even busy. There were a few tables with diners on but the staff seemed to have plenty of time to chat amongst them selves. There did seem to be just 1 girl waiting on the majority of people.
Never in our lives have we not left a tip as we are aware that most of the time the staff are doing their best but these staff did not seem to be stretching themselves to reach even 1 foot in front of them.
I am afraid we won't be frequenting the Palace again for lunch despite the lovely food and nice Chef.
I hope that this chain invests in it's staff a bit more to develop their skills.

Room Tip: The rooms may be good but I would suggest B & B only.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Shaun H

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your Mothering Sunday lunch at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I bought a stay using an offer from a magazine and can honestly say I'd pay full price to stay here. Its a very imposing and lovely old building, and our room was large and clean. Wonderfully comfortable wide bed, plenty of room, and an ensuite with bath. The bathroom was a little tired, and perhaps could use a facelift, but didn't detract from the hotel. Not for the price we paid anyway. We had an evening meal with the room, and the food was lovely, perfect pace of service, with wine and dessert. Lovely dining room and ambiance. Can't fault this place, and will definately stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed on 2nd floor - not much of a view on our side, (flat roof and car parks) so might be worth...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Jules Rugby

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £46 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing