We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Buxton
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location, food and service. Lift a bit slow and only one of them. Rooms comfortable and clean but ours was a bit pokey and dark at the rear of hotel. Lovely pool/ steam/sauna/Gym. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Ann M

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    802
    632
    422
    295
See reviews for
369
1,314
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night and really enjoyed it. We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning. Food and service was excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsMarple17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Hannah T

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Gore at location with good food. However our premium room was well below standard, especially bathroom which had holes in wall, torn wallpaper and dirt/mould.
Guest room needed complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Liz B

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence. We have recently put together a decorations programme and I would be very interested in understanding which bedroom you stayed in, to this end should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call..

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel towers above the other buildings and is a very impressive sight over the town. A very large building internally and externally. It is ideally located if you are attending the opera house for a show. The price was good on lastminute and included breakfast. We were in room 222 which is spacious and clean. Large comfortable bed. As reviewers have pointed out this is an old building so expect creaking floorboards and dated features. Having said that although our boards creaked, we never heard any others. We had a good view of the Pavilion and as the room was very warm it would have been better to have been able to open the large sash window a little more. The room was well cleaned, minor point was water in the kettle when we arrived.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Wifi and parking are free so disregard comments on some sites that say they are charged.
Recommend this hotel if visiting the Peak District.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear adrian evans

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Brilliant location in a lovely town.
Really friendly and helpful staff - looked after our luggage most of the day so that we could enjoy Buxton.
Really laid back about Megan the Welsh Terrier, who was accompanying us on the trip.
Nice menu for room service, speedy and friendly delivery, not put off by a Welsh Terrier running down the hall.
Room decorated to a nice standard.
The only oddity was the separate bathroom and toilet, obviously a result of the en suite toilet having been built in earlier than the en suite bathroom.
Really the only criticism is that the rooms given to dog owners are the furthest from the entrance. Thankfully Megan has a good degree of patience over toileting. A year ago it would have been a disaster!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear MatthewSHare

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We weren't sure what to expect reading some of the reviews, but I always go with an open mind and see for myself!

We booked for my birthday and booked a dinner, bed, breakfast and sparking wine package which was a good deal.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at where the hotel was located (central) and how big and grand it looked from the outside. We parked up and checked in at 2.30pm and room was ready. I have to say the room was basic and we have stayed in nicer rooms, but was adequate, comfortable and had fabulous views (front facing).

We went downstairs for afternoon tea, which was good value for money - our only issue was we ordered the tea which came straight away but then the actual food never arrived and people after us were putting their order in for afternoon tea and receiving theirs, so my hsband had to go ask where ours was after 45 minutes. By this time we had no tea left and the girl apologised for the delay ( we think she forgot to put order through ). The afternoon tea was nice, but we had salmon sandwiches missing, and other people around us were being asked if they would like a refill and we weren't. Overall the afternoon tea was lovely, good range of teas to choose from and good value, and was nice to sit in the conservatory.

We took a walk to the Pavilion Park which was fabulous, a stunning park with lots to do - our children would have loved it here!

Back to the hotel for a swim and use the steam room and sauna and then get ready for dinner.

Dinner was lovely, service much better, a good choice of a menu - even for a veggie! Cheese and biscuits for dessert - yum!

We took a cocktail up to bed with another cheese plate and watched a film on our tablet.

The rooms are very warm, even with the windows open and heating off, and I ended up sleeping on top of the duvet, but the bed was very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.

Breakfast is self service with a very good choice of hot and cold buffet and drinks.

Bit disappointed that we had to pay £4.50 parking, I understand it is close to everything and the park, but surely if you are staying at the hotel it should be free?

Overall a fabulous stay and would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear EmRobo

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Reading the reviews we realized we were going to a 'marmite' hotel ! Its not exactly faded grandeur, and its not a modern novatel!
We had a huge family room overlooking the Devonshire dome, yes it had a bit of paint pealing and a crack in the basin; but it was very clean and well equiped with huge comfy beds.
The rest of our party had doubles, slightly smaller and the roomed at the back were slightly cooler and darker but nicely equipped.
The hotel was packed over Easter and breakfasts could be a bit chaotic but the food kept being topped up.
Only gripe would be the bar wine selection and that some were only served in the restaurant and not at the bar. (a few feet away !)

Room Tip: Family room 121 - great view of Devonshire dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetrapak-shakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear douglas_family

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
379 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing