We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Buxton”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short stay in Buxton”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The venue is ideal for a stay in Buxton. The staff are helpful and friendly, but the hotel struggles a bit because of 'faded glory' - it was obviously a five star hotel in its time, but would need a fortune spending on it to return it to the 'style of yesterday'. The bed was comfortable, but the room was a bit old fashioned, and the bathroom even more so! I would recommend the hotel, but warn potential hotel guests to expect the 'faded glory'!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JEMS1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear JEMS1507

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    819
    661
    457
    317
See reviews for
385
1,380
64
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Went recently with a group of friends for a relaxing "spa" day. What a joke of a hotel!! The facilities (or lack of - there isn't even a jacuzzi!) are old, tired and dirty, the staff make you feel more of an inconvenience than a paying guest. Ordered two bottles of wine from the bar at 21:41 and were told they'd be brought to our table, at 22:20 they had still not arrived despite asking on three separate occasions and with no real apology or reasonable explanation other than "they had to be brought up from the cellar." The only thing that made our stay an enjoyable one were the people we were with. I would definitely avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Samantha L

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your Spa Day at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel may have scaffolding up but better to be working to put matters right than have it fall down around you! The recent reviews are unkind really. The rooms are fine (although the dressing table chair needed re-padding) and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful The package for us was a spa weekend and all of it was fab. The package included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and 1 treatment at the spa. All of it was worth every single penny and the spa ladies, Sophie and Jenna were excellent. The dinner was a beautiful menu and very tasty, breakfast was an array of foods and totally scrummy!. For bit of culture and a quaint town then get yourself to the Palace and Buxton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are currently perhaps not the best since the scaffolding is up but you can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Shirley12345

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the customer service you received from Jenna and Sophie, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto them and the remainder of the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

The scaffolding is to repair some lead work caused by a storm earlier in the year and is due to be down in three weeks.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Faded grandeur doesn't compensate for a fairly high price made worse by the unexpected parking charge. A clean and reasonably comfortable but cramped and vaguely scruffy room (the rather battered poor quality furniture is symptomatic). Location in the centre of Buxton perfect though. No more than averagely satisfactory overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Szymmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Szymmy

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was lovely, The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The Breakfast very good, with lots of choices.

On allocation of our first room, we had a problem with the size on the bathroom, but the staff member on reception sorted a different room for us, without any fuss. We were able to view the alternative room before deciding if it was suitable.

The Leisure facilities were very good and we spent a very pleasant time on Saturday afternoon in the swimming pool and Gym.

The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jane B

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located in the beautiful town of Buxton, the setting is beautiful with nice grounds and looks to be a really nice hotel. The restaurant, bar area and grand staircase are nice but need some maintenance. The bedroom however really didn't live up to a 4* standard as the furniture was shabby and dated. There were 2 single beds pushed together so one side didn't have a bed side table and the 2 separate headboards were not aligned with the 'double' bed! The bathroom really needed some refurbishment because of cracked tiles and noisy plumbing, it was however clean! Service at dinner was average, but the drinks did not arrive till the after the main course and we had to ask where they were. Whilst starters and desserts were very nice one pasta main course was not very nice at all.
Breakfast was good, all staff were courteous and helpful. It really is more like 3* to me.

Room Tip: Ask for front of the hotel great views over Buxton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Gary S

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the team and your stay overall, please be assured that I will pass your comments onto them. I do understand your concerns about the hotel appearing tired and we are working our way through a bedroom redecoration programme to improve this. Perhaps when you are next staying with us you could contact me directly and I will ensure that you receive one of these rooms and I’m sure that you will be impressed with the work that we have done.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Went for away with a group of friends. everything a big hassle for the staff. Customer service terrible. Staff rude at times and dismissive. Despite paying nearly £ 1000 as a group to stay there wanting to charge £10 each for early check in when most of the rooms were ready/ empty. Food average and evening meal poor/ dry/ overcooked. Would avoid.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Della F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Della F

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
8.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing