We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa visit only. No overnight stay”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spa visit only. No overnight stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'd originally wanted to book the sister hotel (nearer to home) but was told it was fully booked, instead I was offered The Palace which was a little more expensive but as it was for a special occasion I didn't mind. The staff member (Lorna) was very helpful and booked us in at The Palace. However when we arrived at 9am following an hour's drive we were told they had no record of our booking. We were supposed to have got a spa package each (2 full length treatments plus robes, towels and lunch). There were two staff members on duty who, to their credit, were apologetic and helpful in trying to fit something in for us. As they were busy arranging an alternative I called Lorna at the sister hotel to explain the situation. I received no apology for her mistake which I was not impressed with considering as it turns out she is the manager of both locations. A staff member came into the waiting room to inform us she could give us mini versions of the treatments we had booked giving us a total of 40mins each. In the circumstances my friend and I were grateful to the staff for offering us something but still very disappointed that our day of luxury would be cut so short. The treatments were ok but far from what I was expecting. My mini pedicure consisted of a short foot scrub, a bit of moisturise and wearing warming slippers. No file and polish as I would have expected. The beautician also left the room twice for quite a while so my 40 minutes was more like 20-25. However, I was given the treatments and a very good discount so have no problem with that really.

When I'd finished I had to ask for a robe (not offered) and got into my swimsuit. I then went to the relaxation room to swap with my friend who would then be getting her treatments (again, different to what we'd booked as we wanted to spend the day together not having treatments one after the other). The room had three loungers, a chair and a chaise longue. All were occupied with women waiting for treatments. The waiting room was also full. I found this odd as by now we'd only seen 4 staff members so couldn't imagine how they would give everyone treatments. It turned out they could possibly. I got talking to some of the women (as the relaxation room is very boring, no magazines or soft music playing) and they told me they were all booked in for 10am. It got to 10.40am and some of the women still hadn't been called into treatment rooms. Very poor organisation. There was also a hen party of 25 waiting so who knows how long they were waiting with no explanation.

After getting bored in the relaxation room I ventured back to reception to ask where the toilets were. I was shown to a tiny, dirty loo round the back of reception. Hardly of "luxury spa" standard. Then I thought I'd go in the pool, found the changing room myself (no tour or directions given) but found it had a coded lock on it so went back to reception to ask for the code. THEN discovered I needed £1 for a locker so once again back to reception for a £1 coin (swapped for a handful of change).

The changing rooms were run down, cold and could do with a deep clean. The pool was warm but the space around it for relaxing is laughable. Two sunloungers were squeezed in at one end toe to toe along the pool edge! We didn't try the steam room or sauna as I am pregnant and shouldn't use them.

In conclusion I really think the advertised prices are far too high for what is a pretty run down spa. I got the feeling the management just book too many people in to get their money and don't really care about customer service. Staff members had a tough job trying to keep all guests happy but remained as helpful as they could in the circumstances.

Other things to improve are:
- No questionnaire for health risks taken (particularly important for me being pregnant! I had to inform them myself to make sure products were safe)
- No spoons for tea and coffee
- general cleanliness
- relaxation room next to loud slamming door of changing room. No calming music or magazines
- no towels provided. Robes only given on request but a bit tatty. My friend's had no belt.
- no lunch option offered
- tiny basic showers
- no tour or explanation of facilities given
- rooms were bland. A lick of paint, nice wallpaper and décor would make a big difference.
- loud chatting in corridors not great when you're having treatments. Staff could be quieter when moving around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear LMK30

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your Spa Day at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    802
    632
    421
    294
See reviews for
369
1,312
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fairly typical of aged grand Victorian hotels. Could benefit from lots of capital spend that it's never going to get and certainly not cheap - they even charge £4.50 a night for parking on top of the room rate. A good location but not really worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear JMD691

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an older hotel and and refurbishment is ongoing. However this is more than compensated for by excellent service from all staff. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, as were the public areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JMD691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear JMD691

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The venue is ideal for a stay in Buxton. The staff are helpful and friendly, but the hotel struggles a bit because of 'faded glory' - it was obviously a five star hotel in its time, but would need a fortune spending on it to return it to the 'style of yesterday'. The bed was comfortable, but the room was a bit old fashioned, and the bathroom even more so! I would recommend the hotel, but warn potential hotel guests to expect the 'faded glory'!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JEMS1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear JEMS1507

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Went recently with a group of friends for a relaxing "spa" day. What a joke of a hotel!! The facilities (or lack of - there isn't even a jacuzzi!) are old, tired and dirty, the staff make you feel more of an inconvenience than a paying guest. Ordered two bottles of wine from the bar at 21:41 and were told they'd be brought to our table, at 22:20 they had still not arrived despite asking on three separate occasions and with no real apology or reasonable explanation other than "they had to be brought up from the cellar." The only thing that made our stay an enjoyable one were the people we were with. I would definitely avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Samantha L

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your Spa Day at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel may have scaffolding up but better to be working to put matters right than have it fall down around you! The recent reviews are unkind really. The rooms are fine (although the dressing table chair needed re-padding) and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful The package for us was a spa weekend and all of it was fab. The package included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and 1 treatment at the spa. All of it was worth every single penny and the spa ladies, Sophie and Jenna were excellent. The dinner was a beautiful menu and very tasty, breakfast was an array of foods and totally scrummy!. For bit of culture and a quaint town then get yourself to the Palace and Buxton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are currently perhaps not the best since the scaffolding is up but you can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Shirley12345

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the customer service you received from Jenna and Sophie, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto them and the remainder of the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

The scaffolding is to repair some lead work caused by a storm earlier in the year and is due to be down in three weeks.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Faded grandeur doesn't compensate for a fairly high price made worse by the unexpected parking charge. A clean and reasonably comfortable but cramped and vaguely scruffy room (the rather battered poor quality furniture is symptomatic). Location in the centre of Buxton perfect though. No more than averagely satisfactory overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Szymmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Szymmy

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing