We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very impressed with the staff. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good selection of meals on the dinner menu. We travelled by train to Buxton and this hotel could not be more conveniently located. Just around the corner from the station and a few minutes from the town centre. Rooms are a bit tired but clean and comfortable (the hotel is over a 100 years old!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LarryM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear LarryM29

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    818
    659
    457
    315
See reviews for
383
1,377
64
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The Buxton Palace Hotel retains much of it's Victorian grandeur and charm, while providing modern standards of service. We enjoyed excellent meals in the busy restaurant and took advantage of the health and fitness facilities (gym, pool, sauna etc). While the rooms could use a bit of renovation, as the one we stayed in, while clean and well maintained, looked a little tired, if you want something very different from the modern sleepover experience, in a great location with excellent service, I would recommend the Buxton Palace Hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mwbxtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mwbxtn

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

gracious hotel, very well located. Booked with Buy a Gift voucher, Good value; included : Evening 3 course dinner 1 night, afternoon tea on second day, breakfast both mornings. Disappointing that had to pay £4.50 per night extra for on- the -premises car parking. Bathroom could have done with a bit of updating, but was adequate, and shower was brilliantly powerful. Would stay here again for same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DaffersMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear DaffersMiddlesex

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staying here was an odd experience. We got the impression that the hotel was being run on a shoe string. All the members of staff were friendly but the younger ones need to be better trained. There was no wine waiter and the bar ran out of Chardonnay (not a rare wine!) and Buxton water. There was a limited selection of drinks. The lift has been inexpertly lined with carpet and made one wonder whether one would arrive at one's destination intact.
There was no air-conditioning and our room was stifling as the window had to be kept shut because of traffic noise. There was only a duvet and a counterpane on the bed so it was impossible to sleep covered up. The light fitting in the bathroom had dead flies in it and the water trickled out of the shower.
This was clearly a magnificent hotel at one time but is looking very tired now. It is unfair to trade on past rather than present glories. A disappointing stay. Perhaps one day?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Tony719

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

We are working our way through a bedroom redecoration programme to improve this. Perhaps when you are next staying with us you could contact me directly and I will ensure that you receive one of these rooms and I’m sure that you will be impressed with the work that we have done.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Every one was so polite and helpful. It was nice that when we asked for extra coffee for our room the receptionist produced it straight away. In the past we have found we have usually had a long wait in other hotels. If I had to be critical It would have been nice to have had a fan in our room it did become rather hot.It looks as thought the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I do think some of the rooms could do with updating but for what we paid it was very good value. Rooms were very clean. I think the car parking charges were a little steep but I thought the presentation of the food at dinner was excellent, with a lot of care going in to it. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TAS190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear TAS190739

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at The Palace Hotel for a weekends stay in June14. The hotel has an amazing location, right in the heart of Buxton.

The hotel is clearly a historic building, and must require a lot of upkeep.The bedrooms are large and clean with all the modern amenities you would require. We had a lovely nights sleep!

The breakfast/dining room was a grand old room - spacious and well laid out. The breakfast times were busy, and could perhaps benefit from a few more staff.

We can't write a review without mentioning the staff who were a true asset to the hotel. From check-in to checkout they were all friendly and helpful, although they clearly worked long hours . A special mention should go to Christopher in the restaurant who was extremely hardworking ... and although I'm sure he was busy he made time to talk to us one-to-one, and made us feel very welcome!

All in all we were very pleased with the hotel, especially the staff who made our stay, and we would defiantly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel - overlooking Buxton would defiantly be the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear ShadeLA

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the customer service you received from Christopher, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto them and the remainder of the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,081 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
8.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing