We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Success for a large group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Success for a large group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at The Palace over the late May Bank Holiday weekend with just over 100 in our party comprising couples and single travellers. As 'party leader' I cannot speak highly enough of the Events Team and especially Jo Shirtcliffe who was consistently efficient, friendly, patient and understanding in the planning of the weekend.

The Palace Hotel was an excellent base. A classic Victorian hotel, most of us loved its grandeur. Staff were in the main friendly, efficient and attentive and the abiding memory of most of our party is of a great weekend in a very suitable venue.

Meals: the buffet breakfast in terms of quality and quantity would be hard to beat. Evening meal: the quality was average and the service was desperately slow,although on one evening when timings were crucial to us the excellent Trish ensured everything worked extremely well.

It would be possible to report other minor glitches, but they were compensated for by many, many positives. With one exception - that tired old lift with a mind of its own! Try getting 100 people - many of them not the niftiest on their feet - downstairs for a particular departure time!

But that said, and to enjoy the charm and ambience, many of us look forward to the opportunity to return to The Palace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeptoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear ZeptoNeil

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    774
    603
    402
    273
See reviews for
361
1,245
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Check in was smooth, although we couldnt hear the man on reception over the noise of the orchestra as he wouldnt come away from his computer to speak to us. We were on the first floor and the room was clean and spacious with a nice view towards Buxton town centre. The room had coffee and teas and clean towels which was nice.

The bar staff leave a lot to be desired. The beer was absolutely awful and we had to switch to bottled beer. The draught beer was flat without any head, absolutely disgusting. My husband had a southern comfort and lemonade with lime. We were charged £1 for a splash of lime. The lemonade was £2.20 which meant the mixer cost more than the Southern comfort itself. Unbelievable! We charged all drinks to the room , giving our room number, there was not one occasion where the staff didnt have to double check the room a second time.

Later on in the evening we rang down for some room service. The person on reception who answered gave a big sigh and asked what it was we were wanting. My husband asked what was available and there were only sandwiches. We declined to partake after his bored attitude on the ohone. Clearly he could not be bothered to get us one of their overpriced sandwiches.

We were staying here for a wedding so we had the room discounted. However for £110 for the night I do feel slightly ripped off. Especially with it costing £4 a pint as well for a disgustingly flat beverage.

Breakfast redeemed the hotel somwhat. We were greeted warmly by the host and the choice was large, mushrooms, sausages, bacon, eggs, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meats, coffee, juices, fruit. We also werent charged for the car park as we were part of the wedding group so that was good! The bed was very comfortable and we both had a lovely nights sleep.

I think overall you can get much better value for money elsewhere. The wedding was beautiful and well organised, but the hotel stay left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Nicola H

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Definitely palatial. Beautiful old building. Staff welcoming, pleasant, helpful and respectful. Our standard double room was a little basic, but ok. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room were great. Food Amazing! Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElaineChatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear ElaineChatwin

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback. We have recently launched a new style of menu and I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed it so much.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveleys
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

we had a premium room which was large and clean.Very modern with a large bathroom. our room overlooked buxton. which we thought was great but I would recommend you book a room over looking the back of the hotel as wedding parties congregate outside very noisy until 2 in the morning.This said everything else was brilliant. the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. the position is the best in buxton and all the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: book rooms overlooking the back for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleveleysWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear CleverleysWanderer

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Extremely enjoyable short break. Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Room excellent, spacious, comfortable and clean. Dinner and breakfast delicious with plenty of choice and variety and very well cooked and presented. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan191153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Susan191153

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having decided to spend the night in Buxton, felt we had to stay at The Palace Hotel, having seen it from the road. However, having checked out Trip Advisor, were warned many rooms were very old and dated apart from those that have been recently refurbished.
I phoned the evening before my trip to check we had one of the refurbished rooms, and were assured we were booked in to one.
On our arrival, blown away by the grandeur that the hotel must once have displayed, only to be shown to a small dark dingy well-worn room not befitting a four star rating. The alternative room we were offered was marginally better, but was accessed from beyond the fire door in the emergency stairwell.
Daniel on reception told us whoever we spoke to should not have told us we were booked into a refurbished room, as they are allocated on arrival and not in advance. I feel I should able to trust the word of who ever I speak to. He did knock off the rather controversial £4.50 car parking charge as compensation, but I feel a better upgraded room could have been offered in a hotel that was clearly not full.
The breakfast was superb however.
I would be very pleased to accept a superior room in the future if the management would offer it to make up for the disappointment of what should have been a celebration of an anniversary.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that is not from the 1950s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear NancyMartin2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us, please contact me directly and I will ensure that you receive a complimentary upgrade to a Premium bedroom.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the palace hotel a few times over the years and this time was definitely the worst. It certainly desperately needs an upgrade as everything in it screams out of date. It will cost a fortune to sort out but it's in such a great position in Buxton that it's got to be worth it. Stayed a weekend with several family members and we all agreed it was a poor show. The evening meal on Friday night was an awful experience. We arrived at 6.30 and were first in. There were 4 adults and 4 young children in our party so we were hoping to get served promptly so we could get the kids settled in our rooms reasonably early. It took 2 and a half hours to get our meals!!! We ordered drinks straight away and they took an hour to come! We asked several times but nobody seemed interested. This went the same way with our meals. In the end the kids were getting really restless and we were desperate to get our meals so we could just go to our rooms. The service was really poor. We've been to Buxton a few times and will seek out a different hotel next time as the palace has really gone downhill fast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Keyser71

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call. I am hopeful that I will appoint a new Restaurant Manager this week and I am confident that we will see a dramatic increase in the level of service delivered.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing