We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

booked as a package, as we have stayed at Shirgy hall before. Too many things to mention with this short trip. Food was like eating in a old peoples care home our room was very dated and unsafe for our toddler as its a pull up window - if you don't have it up you can breath. Swimming pool was freezing to the point of only allowing our daughter a toe dunk and the customer service was bad. The package clearly said free wine with meal, well they put in our room and would not allow us to take it down for dinner- scam. We shall not be putting a foot back into this hotel

Room Tip: don't stay in family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Richard W

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call. Since your stay we have changed our menu to be much more modern and I hope that should you return you would see a big change for the better.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    813
    641
    431
    303
See reviews for
374
1,338
62
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

First sight of the hotel is very impressive: Victorian architecture and landscaped gardens. The hotel inside is equally impressive. Room 315 must be a long way from the hot water tank, we had to run the taps for 5 minutes before we got any in the shower. The room ceiling had a brown water stain on it, a minor issue but one that could have been easily sorted out. Staff helpful and knowledgeable, and the swimming pool a big plus point. Breakfast (which makes or breaks it for me) was a buffet style affair, excellent selection and lots of variety. I would certainly visit again. Paying to use the car park is a bit of a negative though, there is lots of room in it and it is the first hotel I've known do it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazing_badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Amazing_badger

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Palace Hotel in Buxton, England is truly a wonderful place to relax and feel at home. Their friendly, efficient staff is a compliment to the industry. The beautiful charm of the Victorian building adds to the relaxing atmosphere of the area and will transport you to an era of luxury and opulence rarely seen today. I confidently give the Palace Hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bboshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear bboshoff

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

what a fantastic place. breath taking from the outside and even better on the inside. Every member of staff pleasant and helpfull. food fantastic room clean and bed was huge. loved our short break. wish it was longer but not to worry we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinecaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear christinecaine

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I booked in for a spa package which included 1 nights stay, a 3 course meal and a 1 hour spa treatment.
When I arrived with my mum, our room was small but that didn't bother us too much. We only had a shower in the bathroom which was very small and hard to get the temperature right.
Our spa treatment was booked in for 3pm, yet when we got there we were told that there had been a problem so our treatment had been moved to 4pm. This wasn't a problem but no one contacted us beforehand. We went back to the spa at just before 4pm and there was no one on reception, but we could hear people talking. When we eventually went in for our treatment it was 4.15 and my mother and I were in the same room for our massages. I did not think this was appropriate, especially since it had been sprung on us. When the massage finished we looked at the clock and it was 4.55pm. We'd not had 25 minutes of our treatment, even though they were running late we were penalised. Then whilst we were leaving my mum was rudely asked if she had paid for the massages and if she had proof.
Thia seemed to be the norm as when we checked in they tried to charge us again.
The restaurant was ok, the food wasn't anything to rave about and there wasn't a big selection.
It was an ok stay, I'd just advise people to stay away from the spa as they are rude and rip you off.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Amy F

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I took my daughter for a special treat along with my mother and her friend and was anticipating a nice chilled day. On arrival, the grounds looked gorgeous...unfortunately, the hotel itself was run down with cheap decor and a funny smell. There was a staffing problem so our treatment times had to be moved. Not a massive problem and we got free robes for the day as compensation. The robes were rough, grottty and the pockets were torn. So we decided to go for lunch. One staff member told us where the restaurant was and also where we could find places to eat outside the hotel. I thought this was a little strange as they usually encourage you to use the facilities on site. It very soon become apparent why. The waitress (very pleasant) first accidentally threw a drink at my daughter. To be fair it was an accident which she was very apologetic. We ordered our food. 30 mins later for 2 burgers and 2 sandwiches all coming out with 5 minute intervals in between... and the burgers were inedible. The bill was extortion and when the waitress asked us if we enjoyed it (to which my mother replied, "no it was terrible"), the waitress laughed and continued with the bill. We then headed up for our treatments. I must say we all enjoyed our treatments. However, the getto blaster in the corner kicking out classical music and being turned off the minute out treatment was over was a little off putting. But, this was definitely the highlight of the day. We then headed to the pool. Dark, dingy only 2 comfy chairs. I dipped in the pool for 10 mins, but to be honest at this point I was ready for home. I couldn't get out fast enough. I only gave this place 2 stars for the treatments and the staff who I felt were all trying their best. The rest... not much fun at all

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kerry L

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your spa treatments at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked a spa morning at The Palace Hotel whilst we were camping in the Peaks. Lets start by saying that the men's changing rooms were absolutely awful. Mould growing on the walls, the smell of damp everywhere, rotting wood, paint hanging off the walls.... i was amazed it was even allowed in its current condition. The toilets and showers on our campsite were 100% better, cleaner, and more befitting of a 4 star hotel than these were! (Staden Grange Campsite, Buxton). I'm told the womens changing rooms were better. We then ventured into the pool. It is very dated and the smell of mouldy damp continued. The sauna and steam room were better but with only two plastic loungers to lay on by the pool we were underwhelmed to say the least. The only reason i have given this two stars rather than one is the massage. I was asked if the pressure was ok, it was in a nice room and the staff member was very accommodating. Lunch was included in our package which was basic but tasty. The other issue was having to be asked on 4 different occasions in our 4 hours at the hotel if we had paid!

This place is in desperate need of updating and a deep clean!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Baldrick87

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your spa treatments at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton
The Palace Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing