We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different, but interesting place to stay!”
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very different, but interesting place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a quirky hotel (in a good way), it's a very old building and it does show, but it adds to the character of the hotel. There's also a few interesting things to look at (my partner particularly liked the toy collection behind the glass, and some of the puppets in the stairway), the lift is pretty interesting too.

We paid a little extra for a 'Classic' room rather than the Standard room, and we were more than happy with it, it was nice and clean, the bathroom was nice and modern. The room a nice size, with a Flat Screen TV with a few Sky channels.

The bed was nice and comfy, and the room was lovely and warm, with some nice views out of the window.

Although the Restaurant was closed (I assume down to the fact it's pretty quiet this time of year) food was being served in the bar. The service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful, the food was nicely cooked, of high quality and very tasty!

Being just a few minutes from the shops in Buxton is very handy too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    171
    127
    68
    90
See reviews for
89
300
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

After being greeted by a picture of basil fawlty at the nain door I knew I would like this place, I stayed in the 'bruce willis' room, it was warm, clean & comfortable. Great pub with good food onsite. I loved the whole film & tv pictures around and tge whoke qwerkyness of the place. Definitely recommend and look forward to staying again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well, after we got over the initial shock, and it was a shock - this is not what you would expect of a hotel, more a large bed and breakfast.

The hotel is very dated, and not in a good way. It is very lived in.

The staff were very friendly, the 'restaurant' was OK, the food was OK. Ramsy's bar was OK...it looks a little aggressive when you first walk in as it is used by locals, but, once you are over that it is fine. There were only two bitters on hand not the masses I was expecting.

Location wise it is fantastic, Pavilion Gardens across the road, Poole's Cavern 15minutes walk, restaurants and the town centre 5minutes walk.

I suppose the acid test is, would I go back again? Short answer is no.

Pleasant place but it is not a hotel for me, not in this day and age.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A unique experience; great location by the Pavilion Gdns, ample parking. All the walls and lift full of film and theatre posters, cosy attic room with cumfy bed and corner bath! no.38 called Voodoo (8 pix of Gary Oldman on the walls,no one else!). All rooms have a name and movie star theme. Weird breakfast which we had on day 1, but found plenty of good alternatives in town and in the Pavilion for the other 2 days. Very traditional public spaces mostly; lounge has huge and varied selections of magazines, games and a tv. At the reception desk is a huge number of local guide books to borrow, and some to buy. The bar has reasonable prices but not very comfortable. Amusing picture of Basil Fawlty at the main entrance tells you that some classes of people will get discounts, others will have to pay a premium; did not test this out! All staff warm and welcoming. Our first time in the Buxton area, thoroughly enjoyed the experience, including a panto at the gorgeous opera house other side of the gardens. We will return in a different season..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank martykCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Clean, warm, good location, handy parking, toiletries provided, full sky tv,Soft towels, thanks for our stay we enjoyed my birthday recommend comedy club, didn't eat at hotel but menu looked good. Hotel bar busy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlett008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield, england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Buckingham Hotel is an excellent place to explore the spa town of Buxton and the surrounding Derbyshire countryside. It is also quite near to the Opera House, spas and shops. It is pet friendly and there is adequate free parking at the hotel and nearby park lands for exercising your dog. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the meals were superb. The buffet breakfast is surprisingly, but also pleasingly, different to anything that we have had before and the evening dinners were first class - both in quality and in presentation. Price wise - a bargain ! Thank you Buckingham Hotel for everything that you did to make our short break very memorable - we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 9 is at top of stairs leading to outside door affording a quick exit for taking a dog outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbingle_943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

First impressions from outside we're good. Hotel staff very friendly, locals in the bar were also really helpful helping with local walks and places to eat. Great location.
Rooms comfortable, beds very comfortable, rooms were very warm indeed, maybe a little too warm :)
Decor very tiered, a little whacky to be honest, me and my husband we're put in the grim reaper room!!!!
In the bar area there was garden furniture for tables not a good look.
We were a party of 12 and decided to eat in the restaurant the first night, waitress really pleasant but the food was mediocre, wouldn't recommend eating there, plenty of eateries around buxton.
Would recommend as was great value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heskey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing