We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely location friendly staff on arrival. bed was to big took eight hours to find the wife. Decoration is fabulous maybe a little bit busy in the washroom but other than that a good . good views of the parks great food looking forward to staying again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    166
    125
    68
    86
See reviews for
88
293
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is ideally situated near the centre of town and easy to find. It has a lift to all floors, and on site restaurant, small parking lot and accepts dogs. My room on the second floor was quite large with TV, table, chairs, en suite. The continental breakfast was ample and the restaurant meals excellent. The staff were friendly and courteous despite being run off their feet looking after both the pub and the restaurant. Despite my room being relatively close to the pub I didn't have any problem with noise. I notice one review mentioned the room was cold - that was certainly not the case for me.

Room Tip: If you need the lift mention it at booking as some rooms are up a few stairs from the lift entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cappacino_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
609 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent a short weekend here a year ago. the rooms are rather small but comfy enough and the welcome polite and cheerful, a downfall is the simplicity of the rooms with very little to them and highly cold. Good parking and in a good spot for access to all that Buxton has to offer. It does have a very good little bar downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZBH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Although our greeting on arrival was friendly, I can truly say the room wasn't as welcoming - a good lick of paint would have made the room more pleasant. It just gave the impression of neglect which I didn't expect after a winter when most places do go through some refurbishment. Bar was pleasant to sit in - the menu wasn't appealing so we went elsewhere for food and a continental breakfast at £6.50 didn't tempt us either. Unfortunately, we didn't discover until later that the mattress was sagging in the middle so our sleep was not good. Think this hotel could offer so much if it was cared for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DudleyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Loved the Buckingham, fantastic place to stay in Buxton, lovely room, very clean, massive en suite with shower and separte bath, sky tv, a very comfy bed. Free on site parking, and the hotel is in an excellent location for The Opera House, The Pavillon gardens and just a short walk into the town centre. Loved the showbiz theme throughout the hotel and have to say all the staff were brilliant, very friendly and welcoming. Also loved the bar (ramseys). will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing to fault really, will use again if returning to the area. Good location for Buxton itself. Rooms above the bar area are noisier however it gets quieter at 10 and then very quiet after 11 so not a problem for most people.

Room Tip: some rooms have a bath - so ask if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJones_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowdonia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Room was ok, a bit scruffy, good night's sleep though, price was good. But the breakfast was seriously grim and the whole place presents as run down and shabby. Overall impression is of a hotel that is quite seriously on the way down. Better to pay more for something more professional.

Room Tip: Take your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing