We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Tired then Quirky”
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More Tired then Quirky”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed at the Buckingham for a couple of nights in June. Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we liked the quirky aspect and decided to book. I really have to say that the hotel is more tired then quirky. The room was badly in need of a makeover with stained wallpaper and a small bathroom in need of a remodel. The location was good with a 10 minute walk into the heart of Buxton and parking available right in front. The breakfast was excellent with a tremendous selection of cold cereals as well as a full hot offering made to order. Service was good at the hotel and restaurant, but I expect there are better hotel values in Buxton. They did have a nice lounge/parlor area with lots of magazines available.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    171
    127
    68
    90
See reviews for
89
300
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We (8 walking ladies) stayed here for our annual trip. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfasts were good and our dinner was great and reasonably priced. (Despite us arriving in shifts close to the last orders time). The hotel is in a great location and we would definitely stay there if we visit the peak district again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApricotCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Quirky hotel, Rooms need a bit of updating. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keekeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

If you like orderly, predictable, sterile chain hotels...don't stay here.

But if you're looking for a truly individual stay with excellent food (especially the breakfasts) every wallspace packed with movie stars (we stayed in the "Al Pacino" suite!) come to the Buckingham!.

There's obviously been a lot of love, passion and care been poured into every aspect of this gem.

Bags of character and bags of personality "a shrine to cuddly TV characters" or a sagely "thought for the day" on your room key fob...quite unforgettable.

In the words of one of the resident stars..."we'll be back"

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phleaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Stayed for only one night en route from Manchester to Newark.
Asked for early check-in (1pm) so we could watch F1...got there at 12 noon and yes, our room was ready. However, no need to watch the race in our room as we could use the TV in the guest lounge...hubby set up the Sky HD thingy and we sat there, red button enabled and watched Jenson romping home in Bahrain!!

The bar was closed but the lovely young lady at reception duly served us with some decent ale and although the hotel wasn't serving lunch (or sandwiches or anything - disappointing but understandable) told me where the nearest Subway was. Actually went the wrong way and found a quaint little restaurant/cafe/bar called Project X Cafe (strange name, cute place!) and got some paninis. Great stuff!

Loads of magazines in the hotel to read; you could never be bored.

Had dinner in the hotel (dinner was only served from 6-8pm; ordinarily waaaay too early for us but we were tired and it suited, for once!). Food was excellent. Chicken, Leek & sweetcorn soup and a Roast Beef Dinner for me and it was pretty amazing. Hubby had soup and steak and enjoyed. Loads of wines to choose from; we had a job deciding! Ended up with the Chateuneuf du Pape which was excellent and served in very nice elegant glasses.

Slept like a dream in a lovely comfy bed. Room was a bit flowery but otherwise nice enough, pics of Clint Eastwood adorning the walls! TV a museum piece so would be good to see that changed. Breakfast was top notch. Loads of cereals to choose from and a spanking Full English to complete. Shower was nice and hot, quality toiletries and check out efficient. What more do you need?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed at The Buckingham over Easter. Our room was on the 2nd floor. It was very roomy with great views and a huge bathroom ,where there were good quality toiletries and lovely big towels. There was a good quality hostess tray in the room and extra channels on the tv.
The hotel is filled to the brim with pictures of films and reviews and leaflets of past theatre showings. There are loads of local book and magazines to borrow.
The breakfast is excellant ,with the most amazing array of cereals on offer-at least 20 ! Fresh fruit is in abundance and help yourself to as much toast as you can eat. There were loads of conserves and honies on offer too . My only gripe was the coffee was a bit too strong(but that's personal preferance).The meals in the evening are of a good quality as well ,most main courses priced £7- £8 with good quality ingredients.
The bar was full of great guest ales and the wines were competitvely priced.
The hotel is a three minute walk to the Pavillion and 5 minutes to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2009

The hotel was booked for a party. I liked my room and chambermaid was friendly and helpful [Welsh lady ].The food was good and the dining room well appointed
The bar service used once was appalling--glad Im not a drinker
I found the lift offensive and dirty.
Overall i enjoyed my time

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing