We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Lee Wood was our honeymoon hotel and a regular hotel for many years after our honeymoon, so we thought it would be good to revisit for our weekend trip to Buxton.

On arrival we were given a warm and friendly greeting. Our room was clean and well presented.

The charm of the hotel had not changed since we last visited some 10 years ago. The hotel has an elegant feel and you are made to feel special during your visit with nothing being too much trouble.

We chose not to have our evening meal at the hotel, not for any particular reason, but planned to have an Indian meal prior to arrival. We did have breakfast which was appetising and in pleasant surroundings in the conservatory.

All the staff work efficiently and are very friendly.

The hotel is located very conveniently for a pleasant walk into the town centre, but the walk back for some may be tiring as the hotel is located on a hill.

I really cannot praise this hotel enough and we are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: The very top two rooms cannot be accessed via the lift. The rooms over the main entrance may be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Dormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us again at the lee Wood Hotel. We are always really happy to welcome back return guests and I will pass your comments onto the team who always love to hear positive feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    356
    97
    29
    5
See reviews for
135
603
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Clean, warm room, efficient and pleasant staff. I was initially very impressed especially with the HUGE bed, until I discovered it wasn't a double bed, but in fact 2 singles pushed together so that there was a ridge down the bed. Apart from that, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a nice heated towel rail. I was greatly disappointed by the food in the restaurant. I ordered a burger and found that for £12 I got one that was made of processed meat - the type you my get in a box with 3 others, from Iceland! The breakfast was just okay, but not very impressive. I think that if this hotel got Gordon Ramsay in, and didn't push 2 single beds together to make a "double", I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. In regard to your room we are awaiting delivery (weather delay) of new mattress toppers for our zip link beds so as to minimise any possible discomfort from the mattress zips. Please be assured that our beef burgers are made locally for us with pure lean beef. The beef, unlike most, is very finely minced to minimise the use of any binding agents and unlike what is generally available in the shops. We would like to re-assure you that it is certainly not ‘processed’ as you state and remains one of our best selling mid-range dishes on the menu.

We hope that not withstanding you will re visit us again when next in the area and should you choose to do so will contact Rebecca Rose directly on 01298 23002.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Good location, looking over Buxton & close enough to stroll into centre of town. Room was nice & clean & warm (it was cold & snowy outside). Staff were efficient. Was being redecorated at the time & this didn't impact on the hotel running. Unless of course it affected the restaurant - the breakfast was rubbish. it was like comedy nouvelle cusine, i gasped when it was brought out - a very large plate with one sausage, two skinny rashers & a poached egg that didn't have any egg white other than a very fine membrane around the yolk. when asked (after) if the breakfast was o.k., i said it wasn't & the waitress appeared to be embarrassed. in the rush to clear up for closing by 10:00 there was nothing left to fill up on @10:05 - not a piece of bread nor yoghurt.

Room Tip: Eat out. Minutes from town & good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesd0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that on this occasion we did not reach your expectations for the quality of breakfast, we serve breakfast on a made to order basis to ensure the freshness and quality of each item. I am sorry that you felt that the buffet items were cleared away too quickly after the end of breakfast at 09:45am however if you had requested for any additional items they would have indeed brought them back into the restaurant. I have spoken to the restaurant staff regarding your comments and any necessary corrective action will be made. If you would like to discuss this further or have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Rebecca Rose on 01298 23002.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the worst March weather possible, Buxton was practically snowed up. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble to keep the guests warm and comfortable. The décor and condition of the rooms was good. The breakfast and evening meal menus were great and the food delicious.
The only downside was that the driveway was not fully cleared of snow and became very icy.
We'd certainly recommend Lee Wood to anyone wanting to stay in a quiet location within easy reach of the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be warm and comfortable during the snowy weather. We are sorry that the driveway was not clear due to snow during this particular period we were snow ploughing our driveway round every hour but even this at times was not enough due to such terrible snow and wind! We hope you decide to come and stay with us again – Perhaps when the weather is warmer!

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel. Its a beautiful characterful old building with great wide sweeping staircases and a real feeling of grandeur. It was a bitterly cold weekend but the hotel was cosy and warm. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and scrummy. The room was a good size and the bed very comfy. Bathroom was modern and well fitted. There was a plentiful supply of steaming hot water for a leisurely bath.Really good value. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoozieP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just spent two nights at this hotel and was impressed , staff very friendly and helpful, room spacious and clean would definitely stay there again, breakfast was included in the price which was very reasonable and had a great choice

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lee Wood this weekend with our 3 year old twins. We had interconnecting rooms. Rooms were cosy and clean. Bathrooms were obviously recently fitted and as such were warm, clean and modern. A little more attention to the rooms would have been ideal such as we had an empty dusty cupboard where the mini bar fridge had been removed and in the twins room they had a mini bar fridge still in the cupboard but it didn't work and it was a bit grotty. We had room service food in the evening which was really good, desserts in particular were excellent - the restaurant has a rosette. The chefs were happy to prepare specific meals for our children away from the usual childrens menu and they were really tasty and fresh. Beds comfortable (maybe could have done with an extra blanket in the room but to be honest I didn't ask for one and no doubt the staff would have got one if I had asked). Breakfast was really good, buffet style and freshly cooked hot items available. The staff are the best thing about the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel welcome. We would definitely stay again if we visited Buxton.....which is lovely by the way! The hotel is also only 5 mins walk from the town centre and to the Opera House. Thanks to all the staff at The Lee Wood. X

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Candoanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really glad to see that you had a great time with us. We really enjoy welcoming children and always try and make the whole family feel at home and relaxed during their stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you all back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing