We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent competent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Tring
Level Contributor
348 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent competent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good room with quiet location. 5 minutes walk from the town centre (but up a fairly steep hill). Very friendly and helpful staff. Good spacious public rooms. Parking. Breakfasy=t was of high quality with friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you choose to return very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    356
    97
    29
    5
See reviews for
135
603
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked for 3 nights towards the end of August Asked for front facing room when booking

Arrived and shown to first class front facing front room Spacious double room with smallish bathroom but with very large bath (much appreciated at 6 feet tall etc) Could not have asked for a better room given the price. Clean, well equiped and comfortable

Hotel a short walk from town centre Restaurant was fine, breakfast very good, evening meal
a little hit and miss, good starters, lamb chops very rare ( sent back), wonderful fish/chips, and later a very disappointing peach melba for the money

staff and management excellent

It does not claim to be 5* but all in all for the price paid this was wonderful value for money

Room Tip: We liked our front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicmadgesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and I have passed all your comments across to the team including your feedback regarding your dinner. We do hope you choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the location.Beautiful grounds and very nice surroundings.Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.Our room was lovely and was spotlessly clean.The breakfast was excellent.A wide choice on the menu and beautifully cooked.Would recommend this hotel.Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawthorn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you decide to return in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here on a B&B basis in August. The room was good, more like a mini-suite than standard hotel room. The room was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel was an old Victorian/Edwardian house converted and had that old world feel about it. It had WiFi, free parking and was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Buxton.

Room Tip: No spa or pool but there was a fitness room (not for me though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at the Lee Wood for a couple of nights with my family. We had two rooms both of which were of a good standard with very comfortable beds. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms have free wi-fi internet connection although it is not the fastest. We didn't use the restaurant facilities at the hotel, but they did look very nice.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town. Free parking and free Wi-Fi internet in the whole of the hotel.
Staff were so polite and helpful from the moment we arrived.
Room (24) was spotless and well decorated. Room service was excellent and the food was 1st class.
Breakfast was served in the very nice restaurant and all the table staff were super efficient.
The breakfast was about the best I have ever had in a hotel.
If your visiting Buxton I think you would be a fool to use any other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Best Western hotels are always in old interesting buildings. A nice place not far from the centre of Buxton. The staff are friendly and efficient.
I stayed one night, but had spent the day there at a function which was run well. The food there was great in both the function and at the evening meal. The breakfast was full English and nice, but I noted two cases of people getting something different than ordered.
The room was clean and large. It was at the top of the building and a bit quirky - being in an old building. No complaints about furnishings or fittings though. I did feel that the walls seemed a bit thin - able to hear other guests moving about etc.
Parking was free in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomis_eroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing