We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mini-moon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Lee Wood Hotel between Christmas and New Year to celebrate our recent. We had a fabulous time in a beautiful suite. All the staff were very friendly, especially the reception girls. The breakfast was wonderful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious. This is our second stay at the Lee Wood Hotel and we will be coming back in the Spring.

Kev and Nicki

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Renate M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Reception/bar/restaurant staff very pleasant very attentive very professional,Food excellent, Rooms very comfortable but probably got short straw in location room21, VIew of bank of air conditioning units and above kitchen and staff room which created a continuous noise .Also biscuit crumbs on floor on entering our room,All in all would return but only with guarantee of good room position.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve591954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our second visit to this hotel but this time with 2 other couples We had B&B on the first night and dinner, B&B on the second night. The food and service were excellent and it's just a short walk into the centre of Buxton. A great base for walks in the Peak District.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jakehCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Everything about our one night stay at this hotel deserves praise. The staff we encountered from check in to departure were all, without exception, polite, courteous and friendly. We had kindly been upgraded to a Junior Suite and with separate sitting area and huge comfy bed we didn't want to go out! Everywhere was spotless and well decorated in calming colour schemes which enhanced the room. Breakfast was well presented and the ambiance in the breakfast room was good. Will we return? Definately

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lee Wood just before Christmas, and were impresseed with every aspect of this family-run hotel. Our bedroom was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had every appointment that you could wish for - with the added bonus of a wonderful view. The public areas are equally attractive, with well thought out spaces allowing large functions and private guests to be accommodated at the same time without any loss of amenity for either. Food and drink quality and service are of a uniformly high standard, with all staff being attentive, courteous and efficient, but also friendly - a balance of deference and informality that is difficult to maintain, but is achieved very successfully here.
Our only criticism is that the owners market the Lee Wood as a three star hotel - why the modesty? Standards throughout this hotel are far better than many significatly more expensive four star establishments that we have visited recently. Get that fourth star - you deserve itl.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass your comments across to our entire team as they love to hear back from happy guests. We hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Only a two night stay between the main events but one to recommend. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, the food excellent and with the Buxton Opera House a few hundred yards away entertainment was guaranteed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a view towards Solomon's Temple on the hills around Buxton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £55 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing