We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice break”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

helpful staff, good advice on where to eat . we went to near bye lone star restaurant good American /Mexican diner, very busy nice food. Hotel staff and care at breakfast very good. good breakfast will be going again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    359
    97
    29
    5
See reviews for
135
605
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our second year celebrating the new year at the Lee Wood yet again a fantastic night, staff so helpful and friendly, and a gorgeous meal and excellent entertainment. We will definitely be returning next year,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your New Years Celebrations with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We recently stayed for one nght between christmas and new year. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the first floor it was spacious and very clean.
We only ate in the hotel for breakfast which was nice with plenty of choice for continental and cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura57116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our first visit to the Lee Wood Hotel and I know we will have visiting again. From the moment we walked into reception we were made to feel welcome. The staff were professional, polite, friendly and extremely helpful.
We were informed our room was in the outer building of the hotel, upon hearing this my heart sank a little but I was proved wrong when we were a escorted to a beautiful old style house with only 4 rooms in. It was so cosy, quiet and warm. It felt like home straight away.
The room was beautiful, clean spacious and faultless really. I was gutted to be staying only two nights. The bathroom was clean, slightly chilly but soon warmed up when being used.
Breakfasts both mornings were lovely, with the waiting staff being helpful like nothing was too much trouble for them.
The hotel is in a prime location for Buxton and also the sights surrounding the picturesque town. I honestly cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kell_es15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Lee Wood Hotel between Christmas and New Year to celebrate our recent. We had a fabulous time in a beautiful suite. All the staff were very friendly, especially the reception girls. The breakfast was wonderful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious. This is our second stay at the Lee Wood Hotel and we will be coming back in the Spring.

Kev and Nicki

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Reception/bar/restaurant staff very pleasant very attentive very professional,Food excellent, Rooms very comfortable but probably got short straw in location room21, VIew of bank of air conditioning units and above kitchen and staff room which created a continuous noise .Also biscuit crumbs on floor on entering our room,All in all would return but only with guarantee of good room position.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve591954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Buxton.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing