We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Centre of Excellence for service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Centre of Excellence for service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our wedding anniversary weekend in Buxton made perfect by this lovely hotel. Everything about it is good, the rooms, the food, the location for exploring Buxton, but most of all the staff are outstanding! They are very helpful, friendly and obviously love working at this hotel, a lot of other places could learn something from this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank You so much for taking the time to leave such lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    356
    97
    29
    5
See reviews for
135
602
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first stay at Buxton, we chose Lee Wood Hotel as we have stayed in a Best Western hotel before.
We were not disappointed at all. Had a marvelous time, Hotel was spotless, food excellent and staff very helpful.
A little walk up a hill from the town to reach hotel but beside that small detail it is well situated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Came here for a weekend combined with seeing a show at the opera house. Firstly it's perfectly placed for all central attractions in Buxton, and the gorgeous Peak District. Stayed in room 30, and it was lovely and comfortable, and immaculately clean, plenty of towels, toiletries in the lovely warm bathroom. The staff upon arrival, and for the entire weekend from the bar staff to the serving staff at breakfast were extremely friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat in the evenings much to our disappointment, but the breakfast was delicious. Loads to choose from - a selection of around 6/8 different juices, continentals, cereals fresh fruit, yogurts, breads etc. then there was a choice between a full English - cooked healthily (very pleased about this as on a diet!!) or you could have kippers/smoked haddock amongst a few other choices. My only complaint was the drinks at the bar were expensive, but worth it for one at the end of a long day / night to flop on to one of their many comfy sofas in the bar area with wine in hand! I would highly recommend it, and would happily visit again - Buxton was a lovely village, and the locals are extremely friendly - fab weekend all round. It is slightly uphill, so can be difficult for those who have trouble with owld knees or similar!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Laurie B

A superb welcome from the owners and staff,they couldn't have been more helpful throughout our stay. The food was excellent and good value for money but we did book our evening meal when we booked the room its cheaper that way and you choose your meals off the menu.We had room 16 it was very spacious,nice decor,very clean,king size bed & a single, good sized bathroom we couldn't fault a thing,no doubt we shall be staying here when we next visit Buxton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently spent one night at BW Lee Wood Hotel. We got nice, big room. Very clean. Large,comfortable bed. Reception staff were very nice and welcoming.Good breakfast. Hotel has a good location. Walking distance to city centre. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I just wanted to say a huge thank you to Helena on reception in the hotel today . We were visiting the area for the day and our car broke down a couple of miles away from the hotel at the reservoir, a kind man gave us a lift and we were warmly welcomed in and offrred the use of the phone to call for help. A lovely cup of tea and a chat and we we on our way. I would definitely recommend a stay based on this welcome alone and if we are in the area again will make it a longer stay .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. We are very glad that our receptionist Helena was able to help you after your eventful afternoon in the Goyt Valley! We hope that next time you have a day out in the area you pop in and say hello without the aid of the AA van!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing