We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel puts the BEST back in Best Western. The staff are super friendly and efficient, we were greeted at reception by Helena and she made us feel right at home and very welcome. The rooms are well appointed with all the nice things too. Comfy bed! Great restaurant, good selection and excellent quality. Bar staff, restaurant staff cannot be faulted. Breakfast was also fantastic. Can't fault this place, looking forward to an excuse to stay there again

Room Tip: I'm sure that they are all good, mine was excellent - room 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto our entire team. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Two night stay. The walking down into town, round the town, and back on both days did us the world of good.
Happily there was no charge for car parking, a growing habit with hotels at which I refuse to stay.
Very helpful staff and good value for money made it a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Lee Wood to celebrate my Mums 70th birthday. There were 6 of us travelling up from Dorset and staying overnight, meeting other family members there for a late lunch. From booking the stay to arranging the menu the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our rooms were ready extra early which was brilliant after a 4 hour drive, and Mum and Dad had been up graded to a suite which was a lovely surprise.
An extra mention must go to Antonio who went the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent.
The shower in the morning was a bit lukewarm for everyone, including other guests that we spoke to at breakfast, but the hotel has just had a new water system installed so I'm guessing it's just teething problems that will soon be rectified.
I prefer softer pillows, but that's just being picky, it certainly didn't detract from the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and as the as the title suggests we had a perfectly pleasant stay. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and explained that they were having some major plumbing work done to pressurise the water system and apologised for any noisy workmen we might encounter. The workmen we had to squeeze past to get to the room were perfectly pleasant and promised us that they'd be finished by 5 o'clock, which they were. Our room was very spacious and although it felt a bit dated it was spotlessly clean. The plumbing work has clearly been a success if the shower I had was anything to go by. Having been on holiday for the previous few nights we decided not to go for anything too adventurous off the menu for dinner but there was plenty of choice had we decided otherwise. The starter was slow to arrive but the waitress apologised for the wait and the following course turned up a bit quicker. Overall, the service in the restaurant was very good, particularly at breakfast where there were a couple of very friendly chaps on duty. Other reviews have mentioned that the conservatory where the restaurant is located can get quite cold. I didn't really notice but my other half said she felt a bit chilly towards the end of the meal so bear it in mind if you're there when it's cold outside. After a great nights sleep in a really comfy bed and after squeezing past the friendly workmen again we were checked out by a different but equally nice receptionist to the one who had checked us in. In conclusion, this place is nothing amazing but we had a good experience here and I wouldn't discourage people from staying. I also think it's good value for money so thank you Lee Wood for a pleasant stay on our first visit to Buxton.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Timbolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Roderick N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our wedding anniversary weekend in Buxton made perfect by this lovely hotel. Everything about it is good, the rooms, the food, the location for exploring Buxton, but most of all the staff are outstanding! They are very helpful, friendly and obviously love working at this hotel, a lot of other places could learn something from this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave such lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first stay at Buxton, we chose Lee Wood Hotel as we have stayed in a Best Western hotel before.
We were not disappointed at all. Had a marvelous time, Hotel was spotless, food excellent and staff very helpful.
A little walk up a hill from the town to reach hotel but beside that small detail it is well situated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £51 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing