We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
646
394
102
32
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
394
102
32
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleewood hotelbowling greenbest westernsjunior suiteconservatory restaurantlarge conservatorythe main hoteltown centrelovely hotelopera housepeak districtreception staffbreakfast was excellentshort breakwedding receptionevening mealenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There's lots to recommend the Lee Wood Hotel. Good location, lovely grounds, a grand old-style building and, most of all, excellent staff across the board.
This is all somewhat let down, however, by an interior which shows its age. Dilapidated fittings and tired decor could all do with a refurbishment. This was accentuated during our stay this weekend which happened to coincide with a hot, muggy spell of weather. This is not the hotel to stay in if you want cool, well-ventilated rooms. Ours (number 20), was impossible to cool down, despite two fans, various combinations of windows and doors open/closed and a furiously fanning husband (me) trying to provide some fresh air for his wife and baby.
The staff were as helpful as they could be, but rather let down by a facility which really ought to have been updated with air conditioning for the rooms along with some new carpets and paint-work.

It wasn't all bad - the food was generally great (both breakfast and a light dinner) and there were no noise problems despite a large wedding taking place - impressive. Just a shame about the facilities.

Room Tip: as above - Room 20 had ventilation issues and it seems like many of the others in this section (towards back of hotel) might be the same. Our room was also by the rear fire-escape to the building, which also doubles as a linen dump and general utility area. Not the most pleasant thing to be next to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you felt disappointed by some aspects of your stay and I have passed your feedback onto the owners of the hotel. We hope that you choose to stay with us again and should you require any further assistance at this time please contact me on 01298 23002.

Kindest Regards


Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was well presented and the staff were friendly and attentive. The breakfast was not great value for money and there was a lot of noise from the adjacent rooms. The food we had in the evening in the bar was really good. The bed is very soft so watch out if you're used to a fairly firm mattress!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent Hotel, looking a little tired on the outside, except the gardens, very pleasant, but inside superb, All English Breakfast a little lack lustre, tasteless. Very handy for Buxton town Centre and The excellent Dome Rooms excellant

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 775jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent location with very friendly staff, good food presented beautifully and clean comfortable room. Parking on site. Close to Buxton centre - nice quiet walk via Park Road rather than busy Manchester Road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 3 days there in June 2014. The food, service and staff were all well in excess of what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The room had two minor faults (a TV aerial connector and a light bulb not working). Both of these were fixed right away. Altogether an excellent 3 star hotel which should have a 4th in some areas!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews