We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the fact it's part of a chain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the fact it's part of a chain!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We'd normally stay a in B&B, with it's individual character and charm, but opted for a Best Western Hotel as it suited our travel arrangements on this occasion. This place exuded a delightful charm, from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Staff were genuinely friendly and interested in our trip and stay with them. The room was modern and surprisingly spacious, given we had booked a standard room, but were travelling with our 7 month son. Furnishings were clean and tidy and didn't give the appearance of being worn and used, as some large Hotels do. Breakfast was delicious and staff were helpful. We would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, although we are a Best Western Hotel we are actually privately owned and managed (as are all of the BW hotels in the UK) so we are very proud to be able to offer a personal and welcoming experience to all our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you all back again very very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    369
    99
    29
    5
See reviews for
137
621
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just arrived home from my sisters wedding at The Lee Wood Hotel. I can honestly say it was the best wedding venue ever. Lovely staff, fabulous food, comfortable rooms. I cannot fault it in any way. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We are even thinking of going back for new years eve.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are really pleased to see that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the entire team here at the Lee Wood as I know we all enjoyed helping to make the wedding a day to remember! We hope you do decide to visit us again and should you need any information on any of our events please contact me on 01298 23002.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived on Sunday afternoon and were made very welcome. A problem arose when we used the shower in our room - there was no way of controlling the pressure of water which nearly blew us out of the bath. Maintenance confirmed a new set of bath taps/shower would need to be fitted, and therefore we changed rooms with little or no fuss. Hotel staff were extremely courteous at all times and constantly checked all was well. We dined in two nights and the food was superb (although the wines were a little expensive we felt). All in all a most enjoyable experience and to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you do decide to visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well Done ! To the whole team at The Leewood Hotel. For making my neices wedding a truely magical and memorable occasion. Nothing too much trouble, went above and beyond to accomodate our needs and that of other guests. I would definately recommend this venue. The wedding organiser was amazing !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are really pleased to see that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto the entire team here at the Lee Wood as I know we all enjoyed helping to make the wedding a day to remember! We hope you do decide to visit us again and should you need any information on any of our events please contact me on 01298 23002.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed recently in room 34 for a few nights. After the very good reviews I felt assured of a good room, but was rather disappointed. The floor was "going up" near the walls, once used plugs still left in the wall, bedside table glass top held down with different sizes of lovely blu tack, worn out bathroom curtain and wall above it sporting plenty of black mould spots, torn and worn curtain tie back held back persistently by a safety pin. At least the receptionist was embarrassed when I took it down to her, but seemed surprised that there was an alternative to blu tack for securing a table top. I did not like the décor much, but that is a question of taste, decent maintenance is not. Breakfast was good and well cooked. One thing was outstanding and that were the staff. Helpful and friendly at all times. Maybe the manager and owners should stay in that room and actually LOOK around. Pity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keswickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We apologise that we didn't meet your expectations in certain areas during your stay. I believe once you told our receptionist about your concerns we actioned the changes we could make and have since made further corrections to the room. We hope you choose to stay with us again and should you wish to book again please contact me directly on 01298 23002.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We were visiting the Buxton Opera House for a concert and had no knowledge of Buxton hotels. TripAdvisor showed us the Lee Wood as #1.

Evening Meal was superb, Fish & Chips, I would highly recommend. The Opera House was under 10mins on foot down the hill.

Breakfast was a superb offering. The continental buffet was great, make-your-own toast should be a MUST for more hotels! Cooked breakfast used local ingredients that tasted delicious and portion was excellent.

I'd like to say thank you to everyone at the Lee Wood. The staff were friendly, helpful and it was nice to see senior staff walking round in the restaurant (conservatory) talking to everyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lowlandhaggis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at the Lee Wood a number of times in the last 2 years and on two occasions there has been a problem with the water temperature. This morning at 07:30 there was no hot water and I had to 'shower' in ice cold water. I have stayed at the other hotels in Buxton and the Lee Wood is definitely my preferred choice, however a hot or even warm shower is a key requirement and would make me think twice about staying here in the future.

The good points in my opinion are the friendliness of the staff, the fact you get a cooked to order breakfast, the refurbished bathrooms and comfortable beds. The rooms are very warm, perhaps the option of a sheet instead of a duvet could be considered?

The hot water issue appears to be intermittent but is annoying all the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertetErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay overall. I am not sure when you last stayed with us prior to this stay, but at the beginning of the year we had a completely new water system installed which means our water pressure for guest bathrooms has improved immensely. During your stay last week we had a breakdown with our boiler in the morning which was an unforeseen problem. Within 30 minutes the maintenance team were in the hotel and fixed the boiled which was up and running again that afternoon.

I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
18.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing