We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I only stayed for one night, when we arrived the staff where extremely friendly.
Our room was lovely and clean. We had a slight problem with the toilet as the flush did not work, we reported it at reception and it was fixed immediately.
Breakfast in the morning was very nice with lots of choice. Would defiantly come back for a longer stay and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire020880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave such positive comments on trip advisor, I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stay in a Best Western Hotel every year for our Anniversary and are so glad we chose the Leewood Hotel for this year it was brilliant from check in to check out, and being card holders we got an upgrade to a junior suite, (room 8),which put the icing on the cake. The Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking spaces at the front and rear, and was only 5 minutes walk into Buxton either through the Pavillion Gardens or the main road. We always use our Tesco vouchers to pay for the stay and usually 1 meal out, this year at Pizza Express as the choice to use them in Buxton was a bit limited. On our Anniversay we ate in the restaurant at the Hotel, we reserved a table in the conservatory dining room by the window, all the staff at the bar and restaurant we so helpful and friendly, they made us very welcome and we felt so relaxed. The food was yummy, we had seared scallops to start, I had the sea bass and hubby had the belly pork, then finished off with a cheese board all washed down with a bottle of prossecco, couldn't be better, our compliments to the chefs. The breakfast was very good too, helping yourself to fruit, cereals etc, then your cooked breakfast is made to order and you can choose what you do and don't want on it from scrambled, poached or fried eggs to black pudding and fried bread, they also had Derbyshire oak cake with bacon and cheese which hubby said was delicious.
We walked through the pavillion gardens and went to the Opera House but unfortunately there was nothing on we wanted to see but we went in and had a look around it was beautiful. Buxton itself is a smallish town with the usual shops and pubs very pleasant to walk around, we had a drink in the oldest pub up in the Market Square, which seems to be a tradition now wherever we go. We also went to Chatsworth house, which is only 17 milies away and so worth a visit, the gardens and house cost £18.00 per person, we were there for 5 hours, it was stunning and the sun was shining so it was full of people having picnics.
We will definitely be recommending the Leewood to our friends and would not hesitate to stay there again, and once again thanks to all the staff for making our Anniversary special.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SoulgirlCarnforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You so much for leaving such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments across to our entire team as they always love to hear back from happy guests. We hope to see you again very soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Lee wood immensely. We had a superior room which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The decor was lovely. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They prepared another room for us to have our breakfast with our dog Finn, who enjoyed his holiday. The variety of food available at breakfast was generous. The only quibble we had was the choice on the a la Carte menu was very limiting for us as we are vegetarians. Other than the evening dining we will definitely visit again but perhaps will eat out.

Room Tip: We liked the spacious superior room. It gave us more room as we were with our border collie dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you and Finn enjoyed your stay! If you choose to stay with us again and fancy going off menu please let reception or the waiting staff know. Our food is freshly prepared at the hotel so if you don't want the vegetarian option on the menu the chefs will usually be able to prepare something different for you. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the family run Lee Wood Hotel. It's within a short walking distance of the Opera House, set in small but lovely grounds. It's a shame it was raining for breakfast time as it would have been lovely to sit out on the terrace with a great view of the cricket pitch opposite. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and a good strong shower. The room did get very hot which made it uncomfortable getting to sleep, but I realised I hadn't opened the window fully, and it was a warm night. The breakfast was delicious- great quality bacon and sausage.
But it's the staff that make the hotel. They are friendly and professional, providing an efficient service with a smile. Our room service food was delivered within 15 mins and when we asked for an ice bucket, it came literally a minute later. Thanks to Lee Wood Hotel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJoMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry that the Buxton weather let you down in terms of a spot of rain! We hope you choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very helpful, pleasant staff. Room décor a little dated but very comfortable. Restaurant pricey. Excellent location, we were able to leave the car and walk to places of interest. Large range of places to eat all within walking distance of hotel. Would definitely stay at The Lee Wood again. Buxton very beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The check in was swift and we felt welcomed into the hotel. The rooms were in good condition and facilities such as the gym were good. The recommendations for the restaurants were amazing and for what price and it did not disappoint. Also having to look after a dog as it was distressed for an hour while we went to dinner so overall the experience was amazing and thank you for a great night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave such positive comments on Trip Advisor, we enjoyed having you here as our guests and I believe our receptionist very much enjoyed taking care of your little dog! We hope that you choose to stay with us again should you ever be in the area and we look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We'd normally stay a in B&B, with it's individual character and charm, but opted for a Best Western Hotel as it suited our travel arrangements on this occasion. This place exuded a delightful charm, from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Staff were genuinely friendly and interested in our trip and stay with them. The room was modern and surprisingly spacious, given we had booked a standard room, but were travelling with our 7 month son. Furnishings were clean and tidy and didn't give the appearance of being worn and used, as some large Hotels do. Breakfast was delicious and staff were helpful. We would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, although we are a Best Western Hotel we are actually privately owned and managed (as are all of the BW hotels in the UK) so we are very proud to be able to offer a personal and welcoming experience to all our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you all back again very very soon.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,963 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel Derbyshire
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing