We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here last night with 7 of my friends (had 5 rooms in total). Right from the start of booking this hotel, it was a good experience. The owner is very friendly - great at communicating with you to plan your stay. Rooms are lovely. Excellent breakfast provided - loved the idea of having all 5 rooms of people sat on the same table, which was pre-arranged by the hotel. Ideal location for accessing everything there is to do in Buxton. Great value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rorysbestfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    67
    46
    40
    31
See reviews for
16
104
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

great little hotel,very friendly,clean,large rooms. Great location,just across from the opera house and park.
Lovely hot fresh breakfast,nice breakfast room and a nice bar area.
certainly no complaints,great value and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic110470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The place is clean and reasonably well decorated. The staff are friendly and have good local knowledge. I was able to book an third bed in the room for only a small amount extra and the breakfast was excellent. Above all the price made it great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steel_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

On a recent visit to the Buxton Festival we stayed at the Portland Hotel - Buxton was very busy at that time and we settled on the Portland Hotel based on location and price. We were not disappointed - the Portland Hotel is very central and in easy walking distance to all shops, restaurants and attractions. We were not expecting too much having read some of the reviews so we went with a very open mind. Yes the hotel is a bit tired but then so is the rest of Buxton and this in our view added to the quirky charm.

What we didn't account for was the excellent service and kindness shown by the hotel manager and staff. During our stay there my husband was taken ill - we were treated with the utmost kindess and nothing was too much trouble - this was a service that exceeded all expectations.

I want to say a personal thanks to all the staff at the Portland Hotel - it is this service which makes the difference and this service which means that I feel very confident in recommending this hotel. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Extremely friendly, helpful manager/ owner and staff. A variety of seating areas and a bar. Rooms are clean, comfortable but dated. Shower cubicle needs attention. Breakfast on Sunday finishes at 9.30am. Limited parking. Easy walking distance from the main attractions and very good value for money compared with other hotels in the area. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8- 1st floor. No view, but no noise from the road either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one night never again. It was old, tire, and shabby. Our room was on the second floor [ dont know what the rooms on the first were like]. The carpet was a disgrace thin and crumpkled on top of that were the beds the bases had no valance round and were ripped and dirty. The bathroom although swept I dont think any one had ever cleaned around the edges as they were dirt clogged. One headboard on one bed not on the other . Wallpaper stained, I could carry on. The only saving grace to the hotel was the breakfast which was ver good as were the young polte staff. I recommend you look befor you book.

Room Tip: I have none
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel after attending a silver wedding anniversary there and I have to say the buffet on the night of the party was one of the best Ive ever seen. We stayed in room 20 which is large, airy clean and very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the manager and whilst the hotel generally looks a little tired and in need of a bit of refurbishment the cheerful staff and lovely food more than make up for the lick of paint which was all that we found to be lacking. Very conveniently located for the Pavillion and town with lots of restaurants close by. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 20 is nice and spacious but dont expect a power shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieandPaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Compton Guest House
Compton Guest House
#13 of 39 in Buxton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Property: The Portland Hotel
Address: 32 St. Johns Road, Buxton SK17 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Buxton
The Portland Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing