We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I booked the hotel very last minute and asked for a late check in as I would not be arriving until gone 11pm. Another hotel in Buxton had already refused my booking! The gentleman on the phone was nothing but helpful and understanding.
The room was large, clean and comfortable with nice white towels. I am not sure about the design and furnishings, however it may be a taste issue.
A good night's sleep and a filling breakfast followed. Again the staff were friendly and helpful.
A brief stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispinBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The bad would be the rooms are basic with basic furnishings, definitely not a luxurious hotel. However the hotel has a great relaxed atmosphere, the staff and owner are incredibly friendly and helpful and the location is great too.

Good: Location, Staff, Service.

Bad: Furnishings

The good were great though, and the bad was averagely bad so still 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kracking99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our twin room was small with 2 beds squashed behind the door. The bed against the wall was so lumpy and one of the pillows like a lead weight. Ensuite really small with grubby grouting and thin small towels. No hairdryer. Breakfast not much. Coffee tasted dreadful certainly not filtered. Wasn't asked if everything was ok when we checked out. Best thing about this hotel was the location. Awful plastic flowers in reception and the front door needed a good scrub!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lireva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed for one night - great location, very friendly staff and clean, quiet room. Breakfast was lovely and service quick. Luckily I managed to secure one of the parking spaces at the front of the hotel rather than park on the road, although I would imagine the latter wouldn't be a major issue. I will definitely visit the hotel again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stayed here for 1 night at a cost of £99, we were very disappointed, the room was very tiered and average, TV wires dangerously hanging down, Laminated floor which they've obviously also done in other rooms so you can hear every footstep which kept us awake until after 3am. The bathroom needs to be completely ripped out and renewed, the shelf over the basin had a big corner broken off which was sharp, the shower was the most pitiful I have ever been in and the toilet valve made a very very loud noise every time in was flushed,the dust on the radiator valve was very thick and obviously not cleaned in months. The windows were dirty, one of the curtains were hanging off and I didn't have the guts to look at the mattress.
on a good point, the dining room and bar were nice, the food was very enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: make sure you get a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed here for one night, reception bar and dining area OK ! stairs halls and rooms very tatty
old bathroom ,curtains hanging off the runners laminate flooring no carpets ,the windows were so dirty we couldn't see out
On the plus side the bed was comfy the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was tasty
also very good location

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathysophia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Some on-site parking and plenty of nearby free on-street parking. Room clean but the lighting was poor. The bathroom was tiny and the shower had little power. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: I would avoid the front because the road is quite busy so you might have problems with traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teithwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,308 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#4 of 8 in Macclesfield
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: 32 St. Johns Road, Buxton SK17 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Buxton
The Portland Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing