We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambolic”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A run-down hovel masquerading as a good quality hotel.

The room was more akin to what you'd expect from a youth hostel and was certainly over-priced at £71!

Sticky, ill-fitting carpet; dodgy-looking wall sockets; crumbling walls; insecure lock; broken window; tiny bathroom with a shower that had as much power as a broken watering can; one teeny tiny bar of soap provided, no hairdryer. Didn't have breakfast as had to leave early and was informed they didn't start serving until 7.30am. I wasn't sorry I missed it.

The one saving grace was the free wifi, although there wasn't a table in the room for my laptop!

Only stayed for one night (thank god) and would not return unless this place has a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul_richards600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for The Portland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just the one night in the Portland and to be fair it sort of served a purpose for that one night I couldn't imagine staying 2 nights tho!
Mm where to start! This place certainly as a 'interesting' charm about it a bit like fawlty towers!

Let's start with the positives :
Great location (by the park, opera house, centre), really nice staff (they are excellent and couldn't fault them at all), a decent breakfast with a good choice. Oh and sort of free on site parking if you can get your car in at the front!! The bathrooms seemed in reasonable condition and the rooms were reasonably clean. Bedding was spotless etc.

And now for the negatives:
On arrival basically the front of this hotel is full of cracks, rotting windows and weeds! Not inviting (apparently it is getting refurbed and it needs it!) , the stairs have a old, damp, old persons home smell about them. And now for the rooms (we had booked 2 between the 3 of us) one of the rooms the lock was hanging off making it noisy and difficult to actually open or lock the door! The headboard fell off the same room. As for the room I stayed in the bed was on a strange angle as if one half of it had caved in (that was before id slept in it!) the lights where dusty and the bathroom light full off flies. Overall the rooms were very tired and in a poor state! I couldn't imagine having to wash my hair whilst staying there hence one night was more than enough!

This place with the right owner And refurbishments could really do well it as so much going for it but the rooms need a totally gutting and re doing! and the front of the hotel needs a good upgrade to. I hope they can turn this sorry state into a nice place only then would I return.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Vampyrx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes, the staff were helpful and I felt sorry that their hotel is so dire. The rooms are grossly overpriced at £71.50 per night for a single, bed and breakfast. The whole hotel needs a makeover; there is no lift to the top floors where the stairs are narrow; the rooms are shabby; mine had a hole in the wall; the window surrounds need repair and repainting; the electrical wiring is exposed.
Breakfast was fine and the staff did their best, but this MUST be a last resort hotel.
Parking in the nearby side street was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RdeS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After staying in this hotel for just one night I can honestly say one night is more than enough. the room was far to hot, the bed had a big dip in it and was on a slant. very uncomfortable nights sleep. the whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment throughout. also fans should be supplied in bedrooms as it is far to hot. only thing half decent was the breakfast won't be staying here again unless there are big improvements.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vickyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is an oldfashioned hotel on a busy road. Our room was at top in front and as it was very hot we made the mistake of sleeping with the window open. It is on a very noisy road. The bathroom is rather poor with no rails or shelves . However breakfast is very good and served to order. The price for the Festival is £93.50 a night which is expensive for this hotel but worth it for the convenience of the location. I would not pay that outside of the Festival. The parking needs to be organised by painting in lines but we did park successfully both days. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I got a hairdrier on request.
I book through booking.com a lot and am beginning to wonder if there is a 'booking.com' room?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

In desperate need of updating and room service improved. A little bit like Fawlty Towers! The shower was pretty poor and the milk was not replaced in the room until the last day. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I feel I must send a review of the hotel after reading some of the previous comments . We organised a five day stay at the Portland , the party consisting of 26 W.I. Ladies and 3 brave husbands. We fully agree that the hotel does need improvements in many areas but these are more than compensated by the wonderful staff and a most obliging and hard working owner. The food was excellent and we like our food! Yes, the hotel does need money spending on it but Robert is working so hard to make it a success and he really deserves to have more guests staying, the small family owned hotels face such competition from the large hotel chains and in many cases the buildings are old and need a great deal of investment BUT they do have character and you are treated as a welcome guest. Good luck Robert for the future and we have already booked for next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BuxtonMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: 32 St. Johns Road, Buxton SK17 6XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £62 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Buxton
The Portland Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing