We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to The Old hall Hotel Malc and Sue.”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“First visit to The Old hall Hotel Malc and Sue.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Only stayed one night, staff great, friendly. A quirky old place. Breakfast brilliant, would recommend it if your in Buxton. The Old Building has a lot of character. our room overlooked Pavillion gardens which are well kept and a nice backdrop. If you don`t drink you will certainly think you have had a few going to the rooms as the floors slope and twist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay for one night at our hotel and the staff friendly. Our hotel is full of character and as one of the oldest hotels in England's attracts guests from all over the country. I hope that if you choose to visit The Peak District again you revisit our hotel as we would love to welcome you once more.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    396
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
122
612
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Old Hall is an excellent hotel, located in the centre of town, in a beautiful part of England. It has good size rooms, very good food, along with friendly and efficient staff and a lovely "old world" atmosphere. Three small drawbacks are the lack of free parking, the very small lift, and no air-conditioning (which could be a problem in very hot weather) but these do not detract significantly from the overall pleasure of staying here. I look forward to returning next year. Andrew

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I happy you found our hotel excellent: the location is in a perfect setting of Buxton, the heart of the Peak District. It is unfortunate that we do not have our own private car park and parking is in council owned pay and display areas but we very much appreciate our ticket machine allowing residents to park for 24 hours at a cost of £3.00. If guests were ever too warm in the room we would certainly provide electric fans to make you more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you next year and thank you once again for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although we'd checked in and found our room half made up! We felt a real sense of history with the whole experience of being in this hotel. I'm a huge history fanatic and love the stories of the tudor era. So staying here is very special to me. The Hotel is 3 star and is good enough for this rating. With a little attention and upkeep to some bit and bobs around the place I'm sure would easily make it more like a 4 star.
The staff were very friendly and we stayed for dinner and breakfast and would highly recommend both!

Room Tip: 22 is very nice but not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolligeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I apologise for the mistake on check in but am very happy to see it did not affect your stay at our hotel. Our hotel is perfect for guests who enjoy history such as yourself. I hope you choose to visit The Old Hall Hotel again and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just had a couple of nights at the Old Hall Hotel. Our room overlooked the Pavilion Gardens As another reviewer has stated, the décor was a little tired, but clean, the bed was too soft for my liking, but that's just my personal preference. The staff were lovely and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the wine bar, both of which the food was lovely. All in all my friend and I enjoyed our stay there, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILOMENA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking some time to leave a review about our hotel. I am glad you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the food in both the Wine Bar and Restaurant. I would also like to thank you for your comments about the room. We continuously aim to redecorate different areas and rooms in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your friend again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

England's oldest hotel has an old world charm with a 1980s feel. Rooms are in need of an update from the twee styling to something more fitting of the potential grandeur of the place. Staff were friendly and helpful, but overall it did feel that we were staying in a retirement home. Definitely recommended if staying in Buxton due to little competition, and 2 minutes walk from the theatre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzathom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is continuously undergoing refurbishment in different areas and rooms of the hotel: whilst completing work on the hotel our aim is to always keep the character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. I hope you choose our hotel again if you visit Buxton.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We got married at the Old Hall on Sunday 20th and stayed for two nights as did family and friends. The hotel is amazing; we fell in love with it on our first visit and all of our guests loved it too.
We have eaten at the hotel a few times and the food and service have always been excellent. This was the case with our wedding breakfast, evening food and breakfasts in the morning too. All of our guests enjoyed the food and commented on the service. I would highly recommend coming here for a meal at least; you won't be disappointed.
Our wedding weekend was the first time we had stayed at the hotel and we saw lots of the rooms of our guests too. I stayed in Room 30 with my daughters which is an amazing, light and spacious room with real olde worlde charm, the beds were so comfortable and the bay window has a beautiful view of The Slopes. We stayed in Mary's Bower on the night of our wedding which was just stunning. The rooms we saw were all fantastic and all of our guests commented on this. We all loved the sloping floors, thick walls, hidden away staircases and the wonky ceilings! This hotel is full of character but still as clean and well kept as a modern hotel.
If you get the chance to visit the Orchestra Pit downstairs, I strongly recommend it - this is a real gem of the hotel.
Finally, the atmosphere in this old, beautiful hotel is warm and welcoming. The staff are all there to help and do their jobs well, they made sure we had a magical and perfect weekend to remember and I get the feeling that they make all of their guests feel this way. Nothing was too much trouble, all of our guests were happy and we got to have our perfect wedding. Thank you to everyone at the Old Hall, we can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach_0779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your Wedding Weekend here at The Old Hall. I will of course pass on your comments to all the staff involved. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome, whether they are here for a bar snack, an overnight stay or indeed a wedding.

I would also like to say that Jane (wedding co-ordinator) has said what a pleasure it was to work with you for the months prior to your wedding and making sure everything was perfect for you on the day.

Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The English Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Old Hall about 4 years ago (according to my last review!) and gave it a 5 star rating. The reason for visiting was to see a show at the Buxton Opera House and we do like the close proximity to the Theatre combined with the pre (and Post) performance dinner which is great.

On our visit we booked into Room 27 which is one of the larger rooms with a view across to the park and a Canopy Bed. This was a serious upgraded from our previous stay.

The Room was lovely, spacious, well appointed and obviously quite recently refurbished.

Our disappointment was with the quality of the bed which was so soft it gave no support and we both found it very uncomfortable. Now I have looked back on previous reviews and all mentions of Room 27 are positive ones.

I mentioned this to reception when I checked out and can only hope that if a few other guests feel the same, improvements can be made.

Back on the Positive, Staff were lovely as before and the food was great including the breakfast which was nice and freshly cooked. Quite often with Buffet type breakfasts the food is poor at the end of service.

We will go again, Buxton is a really nice town with the Opera House and plenty of Amenities.

BUT not to Room 27

Room Tip: Avoid Room 27 unless you like a very unsupportive bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see you decided to choose our hotel after a previous visit: the hotel is perfect for guests who are attending the theatre as we are only a stone’s throw away. I am very sorry you did not find the bed in your room comfortable. We find it extremely useful when guests pass comments such as yours on and I intend to assess the situation very soon.

I am happy you enjoyed breakfast. We feel that the quality of food and service is much higher by taking orders rather than a buffet. Thank you once again for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,668 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing