We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Situated centrally overlooking the beautiful Pavillion Gardens. Oldly worldy and in need of a bit of a spruce up. Receptionist, on arrival, was very pleasant. I had booked on-line and was rather apprehensive but my reservation was soon found and everything went like clock work. The room was basic and again, in need of a make over but we slept well. The breakfast the next morning was excellent with a very varied menu. Had an enjoyable stay.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MissLovetoTravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast excellent.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed overnight having been to The Buxton Opera House. Very attentive staff, nothing seems too much trouble. Had an evening meal in the hotel's wine bar, which was quite lively and appeared to be catering for the many theatre goers present. The menu although not extensive was perfect for a pre theatre meal. The other option was the main restaurant which also had a different pre theatre menu. We had a classic double room on the front of the hotel overlooking the park. The room albeit on the small side was clean and furnished in a traditional style. There was an extensive choice on the breakfast menu which was delicious and actually served to your table, a rarity these days in the era of self service. The hotel has an interesting history and was full of old world charm as is Buxton itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be revisiting. Oh! And if you are lucky you might spot a few of the stars from the Opera house enjoying a drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Our Wine Bar and Restaurant are extremely popular for guests and non-residents who are attending the theatre. I hope that if you visit the Buxton Opera House again you choose our hotel: we are currently offering a Theatre Break which includes dinner before or after the theatre, bed and full English breakfast. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you want a romantic, cosy wedding then book The Old Hall Hotel. Emma our wedding planner made sure that our every needs were met and the main restaurant was the perfect setting for our ceremony. Food was delicious, our wedding breakfast was enjoyed by all. The wedding suite (Mary Queen of Scott's bedroom) was the icing on the cake of our wonderful wedding day. This hotel is very much highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SarahmarthaCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your wedding at The Old Hall Hotel. I will pass all your lovely comments on to the staff including Emma who I must say said what a lovely couple you were to work with and from everyone at The Old Hall Hotel we wish you all the best for the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just a one night stay in this old, atmospheric, creaking floor boards, lovely hotel. Staff were efficient and friendly and this will be my first choice should we be back in Buxton again.Staff were better on reception than in the restaurant but all fine. Food was good in particular breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms in the old part probably more interesting but 18 was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. It is lovely to see you enjoyed your stay and would choose the Old Hall Hotel again if you were to revisit Buxton. I would recommend having a look on our website as we have current offers updated regularly. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We all do it - walk into a hotel room, look around, get your bearings, find the bathroom, wardrobe, TV and tea making facilities. Then you try the light switches to see what can be lit from where. This is when I realised - the chandelier in the centre of the ceiling had three candle type bulbs - one normal filament, one energy saving and one that didn't work - Most odd ! This prompted me to check the bathroom lights - two of the six ceiling lights were blown. Then I noticed the net on the bathroom window was partially mouldy - so first impressions very poor.
From this point on things improved dramatically. We were on a 'Winter Warmer' overnight stay. A free glass of bubbly, evening meal, bed and breakfast, all for a very reasonable price. We were expecting the evening meal to be basic ' barfood' but far from it, a limited choice but an excellent 2 course meal and breakfast provided a full and extensive choice of all you would expect. The stay provided great value and we really enjoyed it.
So if housekeeping and maintenance could be improved then all would be well.
This hotel has the boast of being the oldest in England and Mary Queen of Scots was detained here and perhaps she had problems with the candles ! So come on - shine a light.

Room Tip: The subject above was room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback to see what areas we can improve on in the hotel. Firstly I would like to say that I am very happy you enjoyed your meal that was inclusive of the Winter Warmer reservation. I would also like to apologise for the lighting in your room. Since your review I have spoken to the head housekeeper and housekeepers about how important it is to make sure all light bulbs are checked and changed as we do pride ourselves on the service we provide. The hotel is undergoing constant refurbishment and I hope that you would choose our hotel once again in the near future. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff were really friendly, location amazing, room nice and big anf lots of history to wonder at too! Would certainly go back again. We used a christmas voucher so not sure how much the rooms cost ordinarily, didn't eat there either so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found the staff friendly. Our location is perfect as it is right in the centre of Buxton and the heart of The Peak District. I would recommend that if you sign up to our newsletter online we send information on offers that we have at the hotel. I hope you choose to visit again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A beautiful hotel with excellent staff! The staff make you realise what is missing in hotel chains. You feel that it is family owned and that they care about making your stay lovely and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when I visit the lovely Buxton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments about the staff are really appreciated. Our staff work very hard and always try to make every guests visit special. I hope you choose the Old Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £75 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing