We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,386)
Filter reviews
1,386 results
Traveller rating
691
507
117
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
507
117
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barmary queen of scotsopera housesloping floorssteeped in historyoldest hotel in englandparking ticketpre theatre dinnerwinter warmerlots of historymain restaurantfour posterpavilion gardenshistoric hotellovely hotelexecutive roomwedding breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,386 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

we stayed overnight at the old hall hotel in buxton,derbys., on sunday 24th nov 13, we stayed in the best room, mary's bower 4 poster room. room was lovely however the bathroom was really cold, too cold to have a bath or shower! there was a heated towel rail which was on when we arrived but it was inadequate for the size of the bathroom and there was no other heater. the bedroom itself was lovely. went down to the dining room in the morning for breakfast and the service was really poor, the staff unfriendly and really slow even though there seemed to be more staff than guests in the dining room! However, the food was excellent. wouldn't go back

Room Tip: dont stay in the mary's bower bedroom in winter as the bathroom so so cold and don't eat in the restaurant as staff unfriendly and poor service (that was at breakfast)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belvoirbuilders c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you liked Marys Bower which has recently been refurbished. I am sorry the bathroom was cold, we can provide extra heaters for the room. I would also like to apologise for the poor service at breakfast. I have spoken to the staff about your review as we do pride ourselves to have friendly and helpful staff. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Two rooms booked post Graduation Ceremony at The Devonshire Dome. Totally impressed with this as a venue.Lovely place to stay. Staff were excellent as was the breakfast. Very good location in the centre of town. Buxton is a great place to visit and this is perfect long weekend material. Some great offers available too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are in a perfect location in Buxton as we are right in the centre of town. I hope you choose the visit our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Arrived Saturday evening for a weekend break in Buxton. Parking was on the street outside the hotel . Room very comfortable, pre theatre dinner excellent value and quality as we as the breakfast the following morning.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkyHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am extremely happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking of visiting again. I would recommend for you to at our website or Facebook page as we have some fantastic breaks/ offers advertised throughout the year.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely building full of history,but you do pay for it.two bars closed.evening meal and breakfast very mediocre for the price.hard bed.standard not what I would expect for the priceOur trip was a visit to the theatre,so booked a pre theatre meal,wouldn't do it again,plenty of choices locally and cheaper

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. Our rates do vary throughout the year and we do have different classifications of rooms: standard double rooms, classic double/twin rooms, executive double/twin rooms and four poster rooms. We do have different offers/ breaks which can be found on our website. Our pre theatre meal is £18.00 for 2 courses or £22.00 for three courses which includes tea and coffee: the choice of menu changes regularly. I am sorry that on this occasion you were not satisfied with the value for money but I would hope this does not put you off returning to our hotel as we are in a perfect location for guests attending the theatre. If you did choose The Old Hall Hotel again please ring the hotel directly and a member of staff will find you the best possible rate available.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This ia a really nice atmospheric hotel! Perfectly situated for the Opera House and the surrounding buildings are architecturally pleasing.
The restaurant has a nice ambience with hard working and efficient waiting staff. Food also is very good! Room was comfortable and clean just one quibble, there was no bedside cabinet on my side and it's only when it is not there that one realises how much one depends on it. Nowhere to put watch,phone, money etc.
Would definitely return though and Buxton is a charming town.

Room Tip: Parking can be tricky! Best to purchase a ticket from the hotel gives you 24 hours nearby.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and efficient. I would agree that the hotel is in a perfect location for guests attending the Opera House. Thank you for your comment about the bedside cabinet. We do try to make every room as comfortable and practical as possible for guests and we are constantly changing and updating the furniture in all of the rooms. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews