We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fantastic!”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Old Hall just before Christmas seems to have become an annual pilgrimage for myself and my partner, having first visited 3 years ago.

Our first stay was particularly memorable as all the Christmas decorations were up and it was snowing outside, creating that perfect white Christmas. It was like a scene from a film; we were drinking a glass of fizz in front of the tree, watching snow falling down behind the leaded glass windows listening to Frankie Goes to Hollywood singing The Power of Love ... wow wow wow - amazing!

Our experience was very personal but whenever we've been the staff have been brilliant - they are always so friendly and helpful and nothing is ever any trouble. There's always a buzz about the place with a wide range of people coming and going for parties, events, works do's and romantic meals ... just brilliant. The food is always fab too.

And, if you get to go down the Orchestra Pit and see a band that's the icing on the cake! All in one place ... but, beware, the floors are all over the place because the building is so old and whilst that is part of it's charm you always feel tipsy when walking about the room!

A must to visit and return time and time again ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are always so happy to welcome returning guests and see familiar faces. There has been such a lovely atmosphere in the hotel around Christmas and the decorations have made the hotel very cosy during the cold nights. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you once again for your review.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel is oldy worldy, very conveniently located and the staff are very friendly. We had breakfast delivered to our room with no charge. The sausage and egg sandwiches were gorgeous. The bar was very welcoming and drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel. Parking is located on the street outside. There is a £3 charge but both my husband and I didn't have any problems parking. All in all a wonderful evening and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are in a perfect location as we are right in the centre of town. I would recommend for you to check our website or Facebook page as we have fantastic offers throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I went to the Old Hall as part of a group for the Christmas party nights. We had a great night lovely hotel the food was very nice , the service very good , very good value for money . We did not stay over night so cannot comment on the rooms but the Hotel is lovely very well furnished and to a high standard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your Christmas Party night. We have really enjoyed the Party nights this year and they seem to be running very smoothly. I hope that you choose our hotel again next December.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have visited the Old Hall for the last 5 years and again we were not disappointed!
Large comfy room, warm and quiet, fab food and lovely staff

The restaurant had a function so we were in a smaller room but still very good, one tip is to book a room at the back at this time of year otherwise the noise from Xmas parties can be heard

We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve13Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel with the Winter Warmer offer that we have. When we do have private function nights in the restaurant we always try our hardest to allocate guests away from any noise. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thank you for a great night, as usual the staff were very efficient, the food delicious, great atmosphere, good music and this year we won the quiz!!! Hope to dine with you again very soon and we will definitely see you for party night again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your Christmas Party night at our hotel. The atmosphere this year has been brilliant and everyone seems to have really enjoyed themselves. I am also happy to see you will choose our hotel again next year.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Not our first stay at the Old Hall and it won't be our last. The hotel may be a bit "tired" but the ambience and staff more than make up for it - and we can take the dog for free too! The deal included dinner which was good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere as we had it to ourselves -if you can use the wine bar then do. Also included was breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are always very happy to welcome returning guests and to see familiar faces at the hotel. I am sorry the restaurant was not as busy as usual we have been very busy recently but do have quieter evenings in the week. The Winter Warmer is a fantastic offer and is currently available until the end of February. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Initial impressions of a hotel in need of a makeover were soon dispelled when we began to appreciate that The Old Hall has sensibly retained all the old and quirky features of this historic and characterful building whilst blending them with good quality restaurant and bar facilities supported by friendly and efficient staff. Both dinner and breakfast in the well presented and very pleasant restaurant were of a high standard. Our room was well appointed and comfortable and warm, even during the night after turning off the heating and in spite of the old single glazed sash windows - must be the thick stone walls! The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station which made for an easy and relaxing journey to and from our destination. Colin, the Monday and Tuesday night porter, is a mine of information about the hotel and well worth engaging in a friendly chat to give more insight into the history and background of The Old Hall. A most enjoyable visit and well worth repeating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I extremely happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our hotel is in a perfect location. I would also like to thank you for your comments about the restaurant we try to consistently provide a high standard of service. I hope you choose to visit our hotel again in the near future. I would recommend for you to check our website and Facebook pages as we have some fantastic offers throughout the year.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing