We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of Buxton”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Hall
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hotel in the heart of Buxton”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A lovely hotel in the heart of Buxton. Traditional and cosy with a friendly staff the hotel was a delight to stay in on a cold winters evening. Food was good and breakfast was excellent. I had room 23 by the lift but not noisy. Lovely big room with modern shower and traditional furniture in the room. Had a really good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are in a perfect location in the centre of Buxton. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    378
    99
    38
    23
See reviews for
111
584
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday night when visiting an event in Buxton. The location is wonderful and although parking can be problematic we didn't have a problem - perhaps we were lucky! it is in easy walking distance of the town, Opera House and a large park opposite (and about a mile or so from the football ground - if any one is interested!). We loved the quirkiness of the hotel which makes a change from some of the more corporate styles that are everywhere. The room was on the small side but more than adequate (I reckon that if you are staying for a longer period a bigger room would be worth booking). There are some cosy places to while away the time with a drink or chatting and it has a very good atmosphere all round. The cooked breakfasts were good - the only down side was that I think someone forgot ours & it was rather a long time in coming. Again though, such a change to having one of those eat all you want buffet style corporate arrangements - although you could help yourself to cereals and juice. When it did arrive it was very good indeed. there were newspapers to read and it was a very relaxing way to start the morning. Plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Buxton. The character is full of charm and character and we have two lovely lounges at the front of the hotel for guests to relax in. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon and thank you for your review.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Overall very good, had Sunday lunch on arrival which was ok but not great. View of the park from our table enhanced the experience. Service was friendly if a little haphazard. Lots of character as you would expect for such an old hotel and would choose to again if I visit Buxton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ralph0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you would return to our hotel again after your visit. I would recommend for you to regularly check our Facebook page and website as we have offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I come to Buxton around 6 times a year for work and have been doing this now for 5 years. Of the hotels I've used I find the Old Hall the most friendly and comfortable. Staff are really nice, rooms are clean and warm and OK, depending on the room you have depends on how badly the floor creaks. But then it has character. I tend to eat out in the evenings for a change but the meals I've had in the bar and restaurant have always been well presented, tasty and good value. Staying in too many hotels has meant I rarely have a cooked breakfast these days, which I sorely miss, but when I have weakened the selection and quality has been excellent. I shall be back up to Buxton in March and will automatically book the Old Hall again for my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and on the first floor tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Healeyj1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are always so happy to welcome returning guests. Our hotel is full of character and charm. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my wife's 30th with our 4 month daughter. It was great to be able to call and speak to someone who works there and not a call centre or an automated service. As a new parent I was worried about dining in the hotel but the staff put my mind a rest. At meal times the staff always went that extra step to make us feel welcome and make a fuss of our daughter. It is well situated and I didn't need my car at all while I was there. The room was veey comfortable and well laid out. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian302930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs, uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hotel situated in surely the best position in Buxton, delightful parks and gardens just across the quiet road and almost opposite the Opera House and wonderful pavillion, less than 5 minutes walk to shops. We booked two standard rooms and they were both excellent, huge beds, tea, coffee, biscuits, magazines, lots of hot water and nice toiletries. We were on the winter warmer offer which includes a 2 course dinner in the a la carte restaurant, although off a different menu. We presumed this was starter/main or main/dessert but its not, its starter/main, i would have preferred a dessert with mine, this is an optional extra but not sure why we could not have the choice. Dinner was excellent, the dining room is bright and very formal, the tables were laid nicely with good linen, flowers and candles, but cosy and intimate its not. Good breakfast and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to Buxton. Our hotel is in a perfect location. Our Winter Warmer is an offer we have been running this winter. It includes a 2 course dinner in the main restaurant guest are given a menu which has the choice of a starter and main with the option to add a dessert. If guests would prefer a main and dessert this can be agreed with the manager at their discretion. I am happy that you have enjoyed your meal and would recommend for you to check our website or Facebook page as we have similar offers running throughout the year. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wonderful area,nice hotel with friendly staff and a very pleasant room with comfortable bed.Not impressed with the food though.Only had one evening meal.My wifes pasta dish had not been drained properly thus swimming in excess liquid. My steak pie was O.K but wasnt heated through.All in all the hotel was let down by the evening meal. By the way the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are in an excellent location in the centre of Buxton: the heart of the Peak District. I would like to apologise that you were not completely satisfied with your meal you had. I have since passed these comments to the restaurant manager and chefs as we are eager to see what improvements can be made and pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I hope that this does not prevent you from revisiting our hotel as we would love to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Property: Old Hall
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing