We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning and full of character”
Review of Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Hall
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stunning and full of character”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in room number 7 at the Old Hall Hotel in Buxton this time. It was comfortable, bright and spacious with a stunning view over the gardens. The freshly cooked breakfast was delicious and set us up perfectly for the day ahead. The hotel lots of quirks and is full of character, with attentive staff who give the hotel a welcoming and relaxed feel.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast which is cooked fresh to order. I would recommend for you to check our website and Facebook page as we have some fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    388
    99
    39
    23
See reviews for
114
600
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Recently had an overnight stay at The Old Hall Hotel in Buxton. The room was very spacious and comfortable ( but with character ). We also had an excellent meal in the restaurant and breakfast next day. Can't recommend it enough.
Mr & Mrs Warrington

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IanHW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are very lucky to have so much character in the hotel as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had great four days in this charming hotel. Food quite good, but praise must go to the friendliest staff I have experienced in some time. All very helpful and courteous, something a lot of organisations have lost in recent years. But not the Old Hall. It was a pleasure to stay and we will return. On downside some carpets on stairs and corridors need replacing, but this is a very minor criticism.

Room Tip: All good as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you found the staff friendly and attentive. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed here twice recently after going to the opera and have enjoyed our overnight stay very much. The atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxing due largely to the very pleasant and helpful staff. The standard of accommodation is very good and the breakfasts are excellent. The hotel exudes charm and historical interest and has non of the blandness of chain hotels. We hope to stay here again when we visit the theatre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 784AnneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff helpful. I would recommend for you to regularly check our website and Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

this is our favourite hotel anywhere. It is in a beautiful location in Buxton, near the Opera House, and with views of parks out of many windows. Do pay the extra for one of the executive rooms which are large, comfortable and enjoy the lovely views. In the evening you can be as formal or informal as you like choosing an excellent dinner in either the lovely restaurant or the bar. the breakfasts are very good indeed. Keep an eye out for their special deals which give excellent value. we have stayed at this hotel five times so far. don't expect a swimming pool or gym, but you are in the heart of walking country.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nelski698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have different classifications of rooms: standard double, classic doubles, executive doubles and four poster rooms: I would have to agree the executive rooms are lovely and spacious. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had an overnight stay in Buxton, due to attending a concert. We have been to Buxton on many occasions, but never stayed, and I'm so glad we did. We were made welcome right from the start, and it was explained to us that we could have dinner before or after the show, either in the restaurant or the wine bar. We chose to eat after the show, and had an excellent meal with a great wine, served by very helpful, friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and we felt totally relaxed about eating late (done it often in London). We didn't realise anywhere outside London catered for post show meals, so this was a bonus.
The full English next morning was equally good, and again, the staff were very friendly and courteous, always there to help.
We will stay agin, without doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are in a great location as we are in the centre of Buxton. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your meal after the performance and your breakfast the next morning. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pre theatre drinks. As always a beautiful hotel staff very polite we have eaten here a few times always good food we last went a few weeks ago with a one year old baby for lunch. The staff were so helpful and kind nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of rooms and lounges to sit in as well as the resturant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to choose our hotel before you visit the Opera House. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Property: Old Hall
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing