We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style charm, good service and wonderful food.”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old style charm, good service and wonderful food.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had lovely lunch in the restaurant today. Will be going back and hope to stay the night next time. Once you step through the front door its like stepping back in time where service and quality still matter. Wonderful food in very relaxing pleasant surroundings. Thank you for a lovely wedding anniversary lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossstones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your lunch in our lovely restaurant and celebrated your anniversary at our hotel! I would recommend for you to check our website and Facebook page as we have offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    392
    99
    40
    23
See reviews for
120
610
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel is based in convinient Buxton beside the park, hotel itself was staffed well and everyone was helpfull and eager to help out. Hotel and bedroom is old style with a lot of history and old school charm , however some parts are starting to look run down and in need of some basic tarting up. Bedroom was a good size and comfortable, bathroom needs a bit of TLC with cracks and toilet constantly filling up. Food at dinner was adequate, breakfast was served by a wonderfull woman who answered all questions and was eager to help out.

All in all very good location, price not bad in an old historical hotel, could do with some slight upgrading but this is more than out-weighed by nice helpfull staff, and remember to ask for a parking ticket, hotel give them out saves getting a ticket or paying for one

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot67Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you found the staff friendly and helpful. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We are constantly undergoing refurbishment and really appreciate guest suggestions/comments in areas in which we can improve our facilities. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked a last minute room. We love Buxton so staying right in the middle of town, so easy to get to anywhere. Staff are lovely and we had breakfast and it was lovely. Defiantly stay again! The room we stayed in was wonderful four poster bed. Read lots of history that's in the hotel, it was very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast! We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stunning location
Lovely food and the serving staff are so attentive
Great staff who are welcoming from the minute you check in to the time you leave
Our Labrador Emma was made so welcome and we found it so easy to be able to travel with her.
Mrs and Mrs Ainley

Room Tip: This is an old Hotel so you have to expect a few uneven floors and a little jobs that could do with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are a dog friendly hotel and are in a perfect location for some beautiful walks to take the dogs as we are in the heart of the Peak District. I would recommend for you to regularly check our Facebook page and website as we have some fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very noisy and in need of redecoration, it is a bit musty ans scruffy. Staff were a bit clueless when we arrived, but were generally quite helpful. Perhaps some customer service training would help? Breakfast was surpsisingly good, fresh food properly cooked and a nice range of dishes on the menu.
The best thing about the hotel is that it is centrally located. To sum up I wouls say OK but not great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank helenaj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise for any confusion when you arrived: customer service is extremely important and we have regular meetings and training with the staff to try and improve in this area. Our hotel is constantly undergoing refurbishment but we always appreciate any suggestions to how we can improve our facilities to make our guests more comfortable. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast which is cooked to order! I hope that you will choose to visit our hotel again. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beautiful building opposite the chique park. Historical interior, and a lovely four poster room. Very helpful staff, and really superb food, both at dinner and breakfast. Come for the history, ambience, comfort, and great service; but don't expect 5 star facilities - if you're a facilities freak, then give it a miss. Shame we were on too tight a schedule to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings for longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob_Haag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our hotel has so much character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is not a modern chic style hotel so if thats what you are looking for forget it. If you want somewhere that is comfortable, relaxed with a bit of old world charm then take a look. You need to know that to park outside the hotel on the street will cost you £3 a day not bank busting is it ! Our room was spacious clean with all the usual requisite facilities you would want, the staff are very helpful ( particularly the pregnant young receptionist ) You will have a very nice varied breakfast and all the staff are pleasant and polite, helpful. We ate in the restaurant on opur first night and had a very good meal for not too much money, the service was very good if slightly over attentive, my wife and I just like to get on with it if there is a problem we would let you know. I would consider staying here again if we visited Buxton as there are no negatives we had room 27 and it was excellent.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as apparently some can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England! I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff helpful. We would love to welcome you again very soon. I would recommend for you to regularly check our website and Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,615 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
17.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing