We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes it is Old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Hall
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yes it is Old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

very central in interesting spa town; historic building with creaky stairs and old fashioned plumbing; quite comfortable; good breakfast and bar menu ok; dinner was a wee bit "out of the chiller and heat up variety" and it wasnt quite cheap enough for that. I felt place might be struggling to keep its head above water and probably only comes alive for special events in the town. But nice enough. I wont need to go back. Not sure why anyone lives here.

Room Tip: no idea, go for first class room at front and sleep with mary queen of Scots ghost, maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is one of the oldest hotels in England and is full of character and charm. I am sorry that the meal you had did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide a consistently excellent level of customer service. I have passed you comments to the executive chef and restaurant manager. We would love to welcome you again in the future if you ever did want to visit Buxton. There are lots of beautiful walks and places to visit and a member of the reception team would be more than happy to give you some ideas of what to do if you were to visit us once again.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    376
    99
    36
    23
See reviews for
109
582
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Four of us were meeting up for the first time in 3 years; we live over 400 miles apart. Our friends chose the bistro-type bar as the place to have a lunch and a natter.
We arrived first, grabbed a table, and explained that it might be half an hour before our friends joined us. No problem was made of that at all, despite table space being at a premium.
Excellent choice of food at sensible prices, and prompt service once our foursome was complete.
A very pleasant place in which to relax, eat well, and have a catch-up. It suited our purposes very well. We will make it our venue-of-choice next time too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granitemannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our Wine Bar is perfect for friends and families to meet for coffee or light/main meals. We would love to welcome you again very soon.
Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely hotel in many ways but....a warning. Now, to be fair we were told in advance that there was a function on and it would be noisy - but if you book and you are given this warning do heed it and go elsewhere. (Or get a ticket for the function.) Our room was directly above the function room and the noise was way past the point even a tolerant soul could handle - especially after a lovely big tiring walk in the locality, the type you follow up with a nice meal and crashing out with a drink and telly. Good luck to the party goers and it was for charity but I don't think the Hotel should book the rooms directly above out on nights when there's going to be room shaking noise levels from beneath until well beyond midnight.

Room Tip: not one above the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cassiuskerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to see you visit was affected by the noise of our private function. We always try our hardest to ensure that if there is a function at the hotel other guests are not affected and we warn guests upon booking. I hope that this does not prevent you from returning to visit out hotel.
Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

It may have opened in 1571 so you would expect they know how to run a hotel, and they do. The staff are very pleasant, the food interesting and reasonably priced, and the rooms big and traditional.
Most people don't go to Buxton for a "modern" stay but in search of traditional standards, and this they will find.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elgin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is one of the oldest in England and has so much character and charm. We hope to provide a consistently excellent level of customer service and I am happy to see you found the staff pleasant. I would recommend for you to check our Website and Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had the most amazing wedding thanks to the kind people at The Old Hall Hotel. My wedding took place in November 2011 (apologies writing this review was long overdue!).

Victoria and Jane (the wedding organisers) were absolutely fabulous! Being a bit of a bridezilla with a million questions, they were both nothing but nice to me throughout the planning process.
The price to hold a wedding here was very reasonable, especially for the quality of the venue, location and food you get in return.

What’s also handy is having the lovely Buxton Park directly opposite the hotel, which is fab for wedding photos and has it’s own band stand.

Although mine was a small wedding (total guests of 20! Just the parents, grandparents, siblings and best friends). The Old Hall can cater for larger wedding groups as they have rooms to suit any party.

The Green Pavillion florist which happens to be located only yards away from the hotel. The quality and range of flowers were stunning and having them so nearby reassured me my flowers would stay for longer not to mention my arrangement for bouquet, table décor and buttonholes were simply beautiful.

I received many compliments from family and friends as it was a special family fun day and stress-free as the wedding was held at one venue and catered for everything.

I would love to relive my wedding again, but going through my lovely photos taken by photographer Lucy West Images, has encouraged me to write up this review. I would recommend anyone to have a wedding at The Old Hall Hotel based on my experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JagC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to see everything went well with your wedding back in November 2011. Our wedding coordinators are brilliant and enjoy working so closely with brides and grooms they can help with anything and have a great relationship with different companies locally to help you decide any details you may be unsure about. I would have to agree with you that the hotel is in a perfect location for weddings as the Pavilion Gardens makes such a lovely background for photos! We would love to welcome you again very soon and thank you once again for you review.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went to Buxton for our first wedding anniversary and had a lovely stay at the old hall. The rooms could of done with a bit of updating but the bed was so comfy. The staff were very friendly and we had dinner in the restaraunt on the saturdy and the food was beautiful, the best we have had in a very long time. We also had the cooked breakfast which was lovely. We were very central to everything and only wish we had more time to see more.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srhs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your anniversary. We are constantly refurbishing the hotel whilst keeping the character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you once again for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nice hotel full of character. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast cooked freshly to order.

Rooms were a good size though a bit dark.

Also ate in the bar which was good though not cheap.

Nicely located next to the park. We got parked outside but suspect this could be a problem at peak season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul_SPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am extremely happy to see enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. We are in a great location as we are in the centre of Buxton: the heart of the Peak District. Although we do not have our own private car park we can give our residents tickets which override the restrictions outside. These are £3.00 and last for 24hours. Thank you once again for your review. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Property: Old Hall
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing