We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
675
500
115
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
500
115
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barmary queen of scotsopera housesloping floorssteeped in historyoldest hotel in englandparking ticketpre theatre dinnerwinter warmerlots of historymain restaurantfour posterpavilion gardenshistoric hotellovely hotelexecutive roomwedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A two nights stay here was sheer pleasure, enhanced by beautiful spring sunshine. Our group of old friends seemed to be extremely happy with the arrangements made for us by the hotel. My wife and I enjoyed the comfort of room 31, where the superbly comfortable bed, at least 2 metres by 2 metres, ensured excellent sleep. The two dinners taken were both excellent, the breakfasts substantial, good beers in the bars and a good selection of wines, as is frequently the case currently in Britain, mostly sourced from the new world.
Parking may be a bit of a problem but buy your cheap rate ticket from reception and from the large car park behind the Pavillion seize your moment to move it later in front of the hotel. Don't expect air conditioning bur do appreciate the beautiful old building and its artefacts, notably the reproduction of the writings done by Mary Queen of Scots (and France), by scratching a diamond ring on the glass of her window when a prisoner here. The lift is also a historic monument, but it works !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your food, beers and wines. We are lucky to have the parking machine in the reception to offer our guests full day parking for just £3. We do hope to see you again at the Old Hall.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a very warm welcome, we were all shown to our very spacious and comfortable rooms. A all times all of the staff were very helpful and most pleasing of all, with a smile on their face.
All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and the food served in the dining room of a very good standard. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Old Hall and look forward to staying there again.

Would recommend a visit.

David Gale

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you were well looked after by our smiley team! We love looking after groups here and I am glad your rooms were clean and the food a good standard. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

As one of a group of 20 or so friends who have known each other since the 50's, each year we have a reunion somewhere in the UK. For the last three years we have stayed at the Old Hall. As you can imagine we are all now getting a little long in the tooth and perhaps not as mobile as we once were but this hotel is absolutely brilliant. They are so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, the food is superb and the service of all the staff better than many so called 4 star hotels. Yes - it is an old hotel and not all the floors are level (hardly surprising when you think that Mary Queen of Scots stayed here) but it is warm, comfortable, and has an atmosphere of welcoming charm that is sadly lost in the usual group type hotels found elsewhere these days. It has its own personality, a great place to stay for a night or as a base for an exploration of the Peak District. Cant wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: get a front room overlooking the park
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit again for the third year running. We love looking after groups here and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Old Hall overnight a fortnight ago on a journey further north. We arrived on a cold and very wet afternoon but were soon cheered up by the welcome in reception. After a walk around the elegant park just opposite and a look at the nearby Opera House we had an excellent dinner. A good choice of dishes on the menu was accompanied by a well selected list of wines by the glass. Breakfast was equally good. Our room looked out on The Slopes and was well appointed even though the decor was a little dated. The bathroom was brand new and supplied with a good range of toiletries and towels. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the side, looking over the Slopes, but a better outlook might be at the front with a view over the park.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JimIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the staff friendly. Our restaurant is perfect for pre and post theatre dinner menus with a beautiful view overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have used many times when visiting Buxton to have a pre dinner meal prior to seeing a show at the Opera house. AS we had a function to attend we decided to stay the night. From start to finish, from reception to the room to the meal, everything was first class. An old world style to match a famous hotel. The staff were attentive at all times. The function was looked after by a dedicated person who was very attentive yet very discrete. The food was hot well presented and superb. Run by a female manager who certainly has her eye to detail. Well done and long may you continue to be successful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff attentive for your function. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews