We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glorious buxton”
Review of Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Hall
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“glorious buxton”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we have stayed here on numerous occasions. excellent rooms and very friendly staff.perfect location beside the pavillion park and the opera house, wonderful restaurants nearby or dine at the hotel restaurant , sunday lunch was wonderful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and found the rooms and staff excellent. We'd love to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    389
    99
    40
    23
See reviews for
116
600
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, staff are so lovely and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Very clean, fab sized room, loved it.Was really pleased that dogs were allowed too. Had a really good night sleep. Easy parking out front. Will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank angirar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you also for the lovely photographs that you posted of your stay here. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The meeting room provided was excellent, and complimentary Buxton water was a nice touch. The hotel is in a black spot for mobile signal and the meeting room had now landline (both of which I knew in advance). So no problem as long as you are prepared. The Wi Fi is excellent so you can always use that for Skype or whatever.
I also stayed over and the room was extremely comfortable and furnished in an individual style (I think all the rooms are different). My evening bar snack was grand and the breakfast is superb.
All of the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The town and surrounding countryside are divine.
Suffice to say ... would I stay again .... YES already booked in!

Many thanks

Andrew

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that you found the Wi Fi convenient and the food delicious. All our staff try very hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff could not have done more to make our stay special. Trip was a birthday present for my aunt age 86. She looked forward to this for months and neither of us was disappointed. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was very good.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Room chosen for my aunt was excellent for someone with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 351Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I'm so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do try as much as possible to allocate guests into rooms tailored to their needs. I'm glad your Aunt had a lovely birthday and hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful stay at The Old Hall, Buxton. Very relaxing, quiet and restful with divine food at breakfast and evening. Also close to splendid National Trust properties. Completely bowled over by Hardwick Hall- astonishing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillw728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. Its a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We also offer Chatsworth tickets at reception if you're interested in Stately Homes. I shall pass you kind comments about the food onto the staff.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a night over the Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotless and the breakfast was scrumptious. Buxton is a lovely place for a short break. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsewmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Buxton is a fantastic place to visit and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent a wet Bank Holiday weekend at the Old Hall. Not the best start ,as the Receptionist was rather unfriendly and unwelcoming , which was a shame as the rest of the staff were most helpful.
Bedroom was very large and comfortable , with a marvellous bay window and view of the Crescent and parks opposite.
The highlight of the trip was breakfast in the main restaurant , which included Derbyshire Oakcake a local delicacy served with eggs and beans , a great way to begin the day.

Room Tip: Room 29 was large and had a great view of the parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I've very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologise that you didn't find the receptionist friendly, but am very glad you thought the rest of the staff were very helpful.

We are extremely proud of our award winning breakfast, and I shall pass on your kind comments to the chef.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Property: Old Hall
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing