We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Worlde Wine Bar”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently visited Buxton and we ate in the wine bar of Old Hall prior to visiting the Opera House. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was really good and reasonably priced. The wine was very nice and the whold experience was a refreshing change. It was a nice to go some where different as a group of ladies and we all enjoyed it and said we'd do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. We're very proud of our wine bar and think it does have a lovely atmosphere. I'm so pleased your group enjoyed themselves and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Another great couple of days at the Old Hall Buxton. The staff are always attentive and pleased to see so many familiar faces, Our room overlooked the park and very comfortable. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to welcome you back to the hotel and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A beautiful hotel full of character. We stayed here for one night only, but wish it had been longer. The room was really nice overlooking the park, lots of room to chill out in, very clean. The staff were helpful and very smiley. The lounges downstairs, restaurant, bar and wine bar were relaxing and very comfortable and the food was of very high quality. Will definitely return for another chill out weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverleyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad you managed to relax, even in your one night stay. Look out for offers on the website to come for even more relaxation!

its wonderful to hear that you found the staff helpful and smiley. We're all very proud of our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is really old, lots of history. A great central location for Buxton town. The staff were friendly with a warm welcome.

The room was great with nice views over the park, the bathroom had been refurbished. The floor is really up and down which is part of the "old charm".

The restaurant was nice with good food but, feel it could be really special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. The hotel is indeed steeped in history. We now run a tour in association with Discover Buxton, that explores the mystique of Mary Queen of Scotts.

I shall pass on your kind words about the food and staff.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we have stayed here on numerous occasions. excellent rooms and very friendly staff.perfect location beside the pavillion park and the opera house, wonderful restaurants nearby or dine at the hotel restaurant , sunday lunch was wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and found the rooms and staff excellent. We'd love to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, staff are so lovely and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Very clean, fab sized room, loved it.Was really pleased that dogs were allowed too. Had a really good night sleep. Easy parking out front. Will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angirar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you also for the lovely photographs that you posted of your stay here. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The meeting room provided was excellent, and complimentary Buxton water was a nice touch. The hotel is in a black spot for mobile signal and the meeting room had now landline (both of which I knew in advance). So no problem as long as you are prepared. The Wi Fi is excellent so you can always use that for Skype or whatever.
I also stayed over and the room was extremely comfortable and furnished in an individual style (I think all the rooms are different). My evening bar snack was grand and the breakfast is superb.
All of the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The town and surrounding countryside are divine.
Suffice to say ... would I stay again .... YES already booked in!

Many thanks

Andrew

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that you found the Wi Fi convenient and the food delicious. All our staff try very hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £66 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing