We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding weekend”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Marple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful wedding weekend”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We got married at Old Hall Hotel in Buxton in July, and stayed for two nights with various members of our party, including some very small children. The standard of accommodation is very good, and the public areas are particularly well appointed, clean and welcoming, however, it is the excellent service and friendly staff which set this hotel apart. From the moment that we began arranging our wedding with Vicky at the hotel, we were confident that the day would meet our expectations - and it did! All the day's formalities ran like clockwork and Vicky was always on hand without being an overbearing presence, all our guests were delighted with the quality of the food and wine, and we had exactly the kind of day that we wanted.

More generally, all of our guests who stayed overnight at the Old Hall were also very pleased. Of particular note was breakfast, and again, the warm welcome and high level of service received from all the hotel staff we came into contact with. This hotel is a brilliant, good value place to stay in an attractive and interesting town that always has something going on. I would always recommend The Old Hall for a night away, a gourmet weekend or a family celebration.

Room Tip: There is no air con in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor, And may I also offer my congratulations on your recent marriage. The staff do try their utmost to offer a warm and welcoming customer experience and I have passed on your kind comments to the whole team.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    392
    99
    40
    23
See reviews for
120
610
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I wanted a quiet relaxing break and this didn't disappoint. A beautiful hotel, traditional but not staid. Great central location. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Will stay again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lantipova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that your trip was a success and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with friends as it was a birthday treat for our friend. We knew it was an old hotel but as others have said it does look a little tired in places. Our two rooms were on two different floors but this didn't really bother us. They were of a similar size and we both said the beds were very comfortable although our mattress seemed to be a little short as our bottom pillow seemed to fall in a gap ( room 37) .
Breakfast the first morning was ok but after seeing people have porridge ( which looked gorgeous but perhaps a bit to big a portion ) I knew I would like that this morning. We went in for breakfast and my husband and friends got their cereal and toast and I asked for a small portion of porridge. I wish I hadn't bothered. By the time it came they had finished theirs and we sat waiting for mine. It eventually arrived warmish but tasty. We then had to sit and wait for the cooked breakfast. Other people had been in after us and had finished and gone before we got ours. I had to ask how long it would be. My advice if you want only porridge and no cooked breakfast that seems ok but both seems to cause them a problem..Reception were very apologetic as I felt I should say something.
It is a lovely but tired hotel and the dining room and kitchen staff perhaps are a little tired also

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable but a little tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you found your bed comfortable and the hotel lovely, if a little tired.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just stayed overnight at the Old Hall hotel in Buxton and had a thoroughly lovely time. Buxton is a very pleasant place to visit and we were very impressed by the hotel. It is large, very old and has a fascinating history, which you get glimpses of throughout (loved the lift!). It is well kept and well maintained, with gorgeous flowers bedecking the windows outside and tasteful furnishings inside. Considering the size of the place and how difficult it must be to keep clean, I have to say it was spotless. The staff were helpful and let us check in several hours early. The bed was very large and comfortable and the bathroom was fairly spacious and very nice too. I particularly liked reading in the cosy windowseat overlooking the pavilion gardens. We did not eat our evening meal there but breakfast was very nice, and the dining room was extremely pleasant. I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The parking directly outside the hotel is bit tricky - it took us a few minutes to find a space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm absolutely delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay. All of the staff work very hard to ensure that the Old Hall is a lovely place to be.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights, with friends. We arrived at 11.30 am, the receptionist was very friendly and checked to see if our rooms were ready, they were not and I was not expecting them to be but she was polite, apologetic, gave us a parking voucher and told us a few things we could do until our rooms were ready. Excellent service from her. When we did check into our room we found it large,clean and a good view over the park ( Room 27). But it was shabby, poorly decorated with the most horrid net curtains. management should sit on the park, look up and see how awful the windows look . I understand something is required at the windows and if it has to be nets , keep in good condition.
Breakfast was better on Tuesday than Monday - Monday there was no fish or fresh fruit or croissants.
We didnt eat an evening meal so cannot comment other than the bars and restaurant always looked busy.
Ok for a couple of nights as it was clean and in a good position in the town, but no more than average, mainly due to the decor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful. Our rooms are all being gradually refurbished. Hopefully you will return and see this come into effect.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had tickets to see Barbara Dickson at the Buxton Opera house, having to travel from Liverpool I decided to stay overnight, the hotel offer a theatre break package, room, evening meal and breakfast, ted for the package and wow dinner served before the concert in the restaurant, with the option of completing the meal following the concert, we opted for that and had an excellent local cheese board and coffee finished off with a nightcap brandy as we relived the concert before retiring.

Room Tip: Mary Queen of Scots is reputed to have stayed at the hotel on our last visit we slept in her room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Droftel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your theatre break and I do hope the show was good! I look forward to welcoming you back should you find another performance that tickles your fancy! Keep an eye out on the website for all our current offers.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here whilst walking the wonderful Monsal Trail. Hotel claims to be the oldest in England and its labyrinth of corridors and levels would reinforce that claim. The lift is a technical marvel from about 1930. However, the staff were great and the food was excellent. The room was adequate. The hotel is well placed to explore the town and there is plenty to see. A miniature London bus (actually a converted milk float) is a great way to visit all the sites and have a running commentary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are indeed the oldest hotel in England, a fact we are very proud of. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,617 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
17.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton
The Old Hall Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing