We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee gem”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Had two nights at Griff House in early April 2013. Comfortable, clean and excellent value for money. Martin and Kathryn offer a very restful B&B - probably the best I have been to .Highly recommended. Restaurants recommended by Martin in Buxton were excellent. A most enjoyable short break.

Room Tip: Myself and friends used 4 rooms - all equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
196
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Griff House ticked all the boxes for us. A very pleasant welcome by Martiin who took charge of our cases and escorted us up to our room. He offered to move his car so that we could park on the small car park to the side of the building.
The bedroom was beautifully equipped with new furniture and fittings, a useful shower (which we had specifically requested) and (as we later discovered) a very comfortable bed.
Next morning we were greeted in the breakfast room by Katherine, the lady of the house. She served an excellent full English breakfast which sustained us throughout the day, until we went out for a substantial evening meal. She had also made the muesli and a variety of preserves. A major point in this day and age was that the toast was served freshly prepared, in a toast rack.
Next mornng Martin offered to collect our cases whilst we were eating breakfast. All in all we thought that this guest house provides excellent value for the money and we would heartily recommend it. Note that they only accept cash or personal/travellers cheques.

Room Tip: There is no lift but Martin was very happy to sort out the room allocation so as elderly guests, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidgourmetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Griff House for 3 nights in the front facing room on the first floor. The room was really lovely; bright and spacious with a huge and comfy bed. Everything felt new. Water pressure was excellent - always looked forward to taking a shower! Breakfast is a very filling English breakfast (too much for me as a girl!). Kathryn also makes the yummiest home made granola which she generously provided the recipe for :) Overall we really enjoyed our stay and Kathryn and Martin make wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

While staying in Buxton for the annual International G&S Festival last August, our family was so fortunate to stay with Martin and Kathryn. Their B&B (Griff House) is simply charming, breakfast's are wonderful, and their hospitality was unparalleled. Comfortable beds in lovely rooms, with bright clean WC's... we were left wanting for nothing! Thank you so much, from Arne, Erik, Meghan & Tyronne! We would love to visit again if you'll have us! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

An excellent guest house within a short walk of everything Buxton has to offer. The house is warm, nicely furnished and decorated, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was well cooked and we were made to feel welcome by the hosts. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for reviewing Griff House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcome, warm and comfortable.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A warm welcome from Martin and lovely offer to help with our bags. Led to our room which was of an excellent standard, not to mention the little bits and bobs including, shoe polish, mending kits and cotton buds etc. what a lovely touch!
A good nights sleep followed by the wonderful breakfast including Kathryn's home made granola and a fabulous cooked breakfast. We especially enjoyed the derbyshire oatcake which complimented the food tremendously!
Would highly recommend to all travellers to buxton to this charming b&b.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which had a great shower and was of a high standard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolligeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Easter hols with our kids of 15 and 12 and had rooms 7 and 8 on the top floor. Not connecting but we had the floor to ourselves and felt like we had a proper suite. Also nice to borrow DVDs and games from the guest lounge and watch/play in the privacy of our own room in the evening.

Both rooms are really comfortable and have nice modern decor.. Fridge (silent) in room great for keeping fruit & drinks fresh. Griff House is on a quiet road but a short walk to the centre of Buxton.

Martin and Kathryn are very welcoming and we would echo previous comments on the heartiness of the breakfast and the delicious homemade granola. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank them for their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing