We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accomodation, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Griff House with my partner over Spring bank w/end.
Everything first class, quality breakfast, warm plates, good food and plenty of choice. Homemade granolla delicious.
Stayed in room 4, very roomy with large double and bathroom incl bath, all newly decorated.
Very well looked after by Martin and Kathryn
Easy parking, even on the street.
We have stayed in hundreds of guest houses over the years and cant remember a lot better.
Have no hesitation to recommend. Dont go to the Palace hotel, stay here instead!
Thanks to Martin and Kathryn

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hello Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Griff House is na amazing place to stay. Close to the center and nice walk from the station.
The owners are extremely nice and helpful, nothing is a problem and the atmosphere they have in the house is amazing. I was never interrupted even once, even cleaning is at the time convenient for me. Excellent.

But the rooms are a special treat. Nicely done in a very good style, spacious rooms with very clean and well equipped bathrooms. Yeah...bed was very comfortable. And the care for details....I was overwhelmed by stay in that place.

Breakfast served with local products and self made products. This extra small things that makes all the stay very pleasant.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was staying in one of them but as it is a newly refurbished house I guess they are all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We chose to stay at Griff House after reading all the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. It is easy to find, close to the town centre, with free on-street parking & although an older property, it has been sensitively renovated to a high standard of modern decor & comfort. Owners Martin & Kathryn made us very welcome. Room 4 was spacious, with quality soft furnishings & bedlinen, tub chairs, a comfortable bed, flat screen TV & a fridge with fresh milk & water. The bathroom was spotlessly clean & had a good shower. Breakfast was tasty, with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, home made preserves & a variety of cooked items on offer. We would not hesitate to recommend Griff House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelynn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice clean rooms with en suite bedrooms, kind personnel, delicious snacktray, Rooms also have TV, WIFI, hairdryer, alarmclock, dvd-player and a little fridge. The personnel is kind and helpfull. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja3257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The room was spotless, the hosts welcoming, the breakfast excellent, and the setting convenient. Couldn't really ask for more. Overall a very satisfying stay, highly recommended. I have to write 200 characters for this review and can't think of anything to say.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here over the weekend.Martin and Kathryn were welcoming and friendly, the room was very comfortable and spacious with a nice ensuite . The breakfast was great, especially the vegetarian option. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00kay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for reviewing Griff House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcome and comfortable. You were in Room 4, with its king size bed and bay window, we're glad you liked it.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at Griff House and hope to stay there again in the future. This time we were accommpanied by our two grown up sons. On arrival Martin made us very welcome and showed us to large and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was very tasty and I especially enjoyed Kathryn's Granola. We enjoyed our conversations on football with Martin. We'll forgive him for being a Leeds supporter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyJ186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Gill,

Thank you for reviewing Griff House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcome and comfortable. Kathryn's granola is fast becoming legendary!

At the time of writing you have returned once more, this time during the Buxton Festival, and we hope to see you again soon.

Martin and Kathryn

PS Us Leeds fans aren't all bad ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
180 reviews
13.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing