We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendly and spotlessly clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, friendly and spotlessly clean!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely B&B as a base for exploring the area. In a quiet residential area just a few minutes walk from Buxton town centre. We had room 1 which was light, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The shower room is quite small but again spotlessly clean and equipped with everything needed.It was also very nice to have large fluffy white bath towels instead of the usual 'postage stamps' you get in many hotels! The bedlinen was also of good quality. Good breakfast, freshly cooked for you. Martin and Kathryn were pleasant, friendly hosts. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and amongst other things, liked our new towels!

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
201
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for three nights over the August bank holiday weekend. Kathryn was a lovely host...the breakfasts were delicious and she was at hand to provide us with any info we needed. I have never tried granola before but after reading the other reviews, I tried it and it was simply delicious.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and we were provided with 2 bottles of Buxton water each day. We stayed in Room 7 on the 2nd floor. The only issue we had was with the shower as the water didn't drain quickly but this was minor.

Location is perfect, about 2 min walk from Buxton town centre, 2 min drive from GoApe and Poole's Cavern, 20 min drive to Bakewell.

We managed to go on two beautiful walks whilst we were here - just wish we had longer.

Can't wait to plan my next trip here!

Room Tip: Room 7 at the top is cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKothary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the shower issue, we were glad to be able to resolve it while you were here.

Nice to have another 'recommend' for Kathryn's granola, it really is scrummy!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to Griff House before too long
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This guest house is an ideal place to relax. Perfect quiet location with fresh air and magnificent views from the windows, close to the centre and the park.The rooms are spacy, the bathrooms are newly renovated with nice showers. Everything is spotlessly clean. Daily breakfast is really delicious! Fresh milk, farmers' eggs and self-made marmelade and granola! And most importantly - the hotel is run by really friendly and helpful people. I've stayed in Griff House twice and hope to come again. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larysa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Larysa,

Thank you for leaving your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Griff House.

We hope to see you again before too long!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful guest house and is exactly what a guest house experience should be like. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The house is immaculate and our room was very comfortable. I loved the little extras that show they've gone that bit extra to ensure you have a good stay. Our room had a little proper fridge - with fresh milk! And it's worth saying here for the towels, they are very luxurious, and the shower is a decent shower, just what you need after a hard day's walking. It was beautifully quiet (except for someone checking out and leaving their alarm on, grr!) and the breakfast is excellent - a wide range of items and a delicious home cooked breakfast, exactly what you need before a hard day's walking.

The guest house location is perfect; a couple of minutes walk to the high street, and a little more to the beautiful gardens and pavilion. The guest house is walkable to Poole's cavern, which is near the start of a walk up to Solomon's temple. Martin recommended a few places to eat and drink and also helped us find some walks. We also borrowed a couple of the walking books from the guest house during our stay, and did the two tors walk on the Sunday.

I've already recommend this guest house to friends and would certainly stop here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Lisa,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The towels are a recent addition, we think they are fantastic! From BC Software's Sumptuous range, they are simply the nicest we could find and the bath sheets are huge and enveloping - we are glad you liked them. The showers are also blessed with good water pressure and our new plumbing system ensures an immediate and endless supply of hot water - ideal for you walkers.

We hope to see you again one day
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Griff House provides everything you could want from a B+B. Excellent location, comfortable spacious room and very friendly, helpful hosts. The little extras such as effective hairdryer (not one of those useless attached to the wall things), fresh milk and fridge, and fab shower all helped make our 2 night stay very enjoyable. We had our bikes with us and Martin was very accommodating, making room in his garage for storage. Breakfast was delicious with homemade cereals, jams and marmalade a nice touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1- a lovely large room with double bed and a single. Bathroom was small but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Tracey,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. When we designed the rooms and chose the contents, we tried to think of what we would like to find if it we were the guests. We are glad you liked it.

There was room in our garage for your bikes, and those of some other guests that weekend; our next large project will be to provide cyclists with a new garage for cycle storage, progress on this will be on the news page of our website in due course!

We hope to see you again in the future
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

An excellent place to stay. This was our first stay in the area, so it was a great benefit to be so close to the town centre. The room was very comfortable, with all the little extras provided a nice touch. The breakfasts were also very good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RodK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Rod,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a three night stay at Griff House at the end of July. It is conveniently located in a quiet residential area with the centre of town a pleasant stroll away. Our room was very large with a bay window at the front of the house. It was immaculately clean and supplied with everything you could need, including a miraculously silent fridge with fresh milk and bottles of Buxton water. The bathroom was also large and well equipped with the biggest and fluffiest towels we have ever come across in a B&B! The breakfasts were freshly cooked with good quality ingredients. Portions were plentiful and lunch was not necessary! Martin was a very helpful host and happy to give us tips for places to visit, directions, etc. We highly recommend a stay at Griff House and will definitely return if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Barbara,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The heading of your review made us smile! The fluffy towels are a recent addition, we think they are fantastic too! From BC Software's Sumptuous range, they are the nicest we could find and the bath sheets are simply huge and enveloping - we are glad you liked them.

You were in Room 4, the bay window does add to the space. The silent-running fridge is handy, large enough to store provisions for the following day's exploring &/or a bottle of wine for a nightcap!

We hope to see you again in the future
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#6 of 39 in Buxton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing